Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Windows and Doors

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-19-2012, 08:46 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

8ft Garage doors/opener


I am looking at possibly replacing the garage doors in a new house. The doors are standard width, but they are 8ft.

The existing openers are Chamberlain BW0777 1/2 HP models.

Many of the openers I have looked at say they are only good for 7ft doors.

Is there any rule of thumb to determine if an opener is sufficient or do I have to dig up the info on each door?

Also, on some units that info is easy to find and on others it is very difficult.

Thanks!

kapeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 09:32 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Western suburbs, Chicago, Il.
Posts: 2,681
Rewards Points: 2,040
Default

8ft Garage doors/opener


Hi!
"kapeman"
Usually, when they're referring to the size of a garage door -
they mean the height of the door, not the width.
7 ft. high door - 8 ft. wide - 1/2 horse power - should be OK.

rossfingal

rossfingal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 09:43 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Western suburbs, Chicago, Il.
Posts: 2,681
Rewards Points: 2,040
Default

8ft Garage doors/opener


Sorry! - I might have read your post too fast!
If the doors are 8 ft. high -
you should try to find an opener that is suitable.
It has to do with the length of the "rail" -
screw, chain, etc...
(Me bad!)

rossfingal

Also, remember - when choosing the hp. for an opener -
the type of door and the weight of the door should be taken into consideration.
Solid wood doors - some steel doors can be very, heavy!

Last edited by rossfingal; 03-19-2012 at 09:48 AM.
rossfingal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 11:13 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

8ft Garage doors/opener


Quote:
Originally Posted by rossfingal View Post
Sorry! - I might have read your post too fast!
If the doors are 8 ft. high -
you should try to find an opener that is suitable.
It has to do with the length of the "rail" -
screw, chain, etc...
(Me bad!)

rossfingal

Also, remember - when choosing the hp. for an opener -
the type of door and the weight of the door should be taken into consideration.
Solid wood doors - some steel doors can be very, heavy!
Thanks for the info. I am pretty sure the rail length will be the only real issue since the 1/2 HP openers are working now.

When the manufacturer states "only 7ft doors" does that mean the unit in question does not support the rail extensions?
kapeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 01:21 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Western suburbs, Chicago, Il.
Posts: 2,681
Rewards Points: 2,040
Default

8ft Garage doors/opener


If you are replacing the doors -
if the existing doors are 8 ft. high and the openers work -
why replace the openers?

Unless, the new doors are substantially, heavier than the the existing doors.

Some openers support rail, extensions - some don't.

rossfingal
rossfingal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 01:26 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: SW burbs of Chi-town
Posts: 87
Rewards Points: 75
Default

8ft Garage doors/opener


Most door opener manufactures will have an extra box with a piece of rail, chain, etc for the 8' rail.

Sears, liftmaster/ chamberlain are the only brands I recommend.
I told a guy once standing in line at Menards to put the Stanley he was purchasing back....he asked why.....I pointed at my shirt...
Doorman54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 01:29 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

8ft Garage doors/opener


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doorman54 View Post
Most door opener manufactures will have an extra box with a piece of rail, chain, etc for the 8' rail.

Sears, liftmaster/ chamberlain are the only brands I recommend.
I told a guy once standing in line at Menards to put the Stanley he was purchasing back....he asked why.....I pointed at my shirt...
Just to clarify the doors are not being replaced just the openers (maybe). Why? They are old and the remotes and a couple of the sensors are missing. We also want an external keypad.

We are also investigating working with what we have and replacing the missing items.

Thanks again for all the responses!
kapeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 01:52 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: SW burbs of Chi-town
Posts: 87
Rewards Points: 75
Default

8ft Garage doors/opener


Quote:
Originally Posted by kapeman

Just to clarify the doors are not being replaced just the openers (maybe). Why? They are old and the remotes and a couple of the sensors are missing. We also want an external keypad.

We are also investigating working with what we have and replacing the missing items.

Thanks again for all the responses!
I am referring to the opener only.
Doorman54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 08:26 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

8ft Garage doors/opener


Quote:
Originally Posted by kapeman
I am looking at possibly replacing the garage doors in a new house. The doors are standard width, but they are 8ft.

The existing openers are Chamberlain BW0777 1/2 HP models.

Many of the openers I have looked at say they are only good for 7ft doors.

Is there any rule of thumb to determine if an opener is sufficient or do I have to dig up the info on each door?

Also, on some units that info is easy to find and on others it is very difficult.

Thanks!
If you buy another chamberlain (and you should) you can reuse the current rail.
Darren R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 09:35 AM   #10
Newbie
 
brucewilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: 55 Q Laura St, Jacksonville, FL 32202
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Thumbs up

8ft Garage doors/opener


Hey!! did you ever tried an automatic gates for your garage???
Just try it!! Or ask me its really very easy to install and very simple to use as its an automatic one you don't have to do anything!!!

brucewilles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Expanding Garage INTO house (goodbye Den) texaopian Building & Construction 16 11-07-2011 11:32 PM
Garage Insulation yamster Insulation 0 07-01-2011 02:30 PM
Do I have a Fire Rating Issues with Attached Garage Perry401 Building & Construction 4 04-26-2011 12:58 AM
Garage Wiring issues jimmyfloyd Electrical 20 06-08-2009 03:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.