Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Insulation

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-19-2014, 08:34 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Northern Ontario
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Vapour barrier around studs?


basically, im redoing my cottage from the outside in. Whats there now is old cedar, insulation then the drywall. No aspenite, no house wrap, or vapour barrier. The drywall is in great shape and don't want to replace it. Can I leave it attached to the studs and, from the outside, just wrap the vapour barrier around the studs, then lay the insulation, and work my way out? Doing it this way though, there will be no vapour barrier between where the stud actually attaches to the drywall, will this be an issue? thanks.

wilyum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 08:38 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,518
Rewards Points: 4,152
Default

Vapour barrier around studs?


#1 Need your location added to your profile for questions like this. Just go to quick links to edit.

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 08:43 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Southeast MA
Posts: 590
Rewards Points: 510
Default

Vapour barrier around studs?


Yes, you can. Not the optimum solution bur workable. Ron
ront02769 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 01:12 AM   #4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,967
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Vapour barrier around studs?


I agree, as long as the vapor barrier is in the warm 1/3 of the cavity insulation. IMO, add some foam board strips on the stud edges before the sheathing ( if wall shear bracing is existing) before your rainscreen approach to prevent thermal bridging there.

Gary
__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 03:29 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Northern Ontario
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Vapour barrier around studs?


thanks, its looking like ill take the drywall down and do it right, the cottage is only 20x16. Definitely not fun, zigzagging the VB back and forth between each stud, then crunching it in at the top and bottom plates. Gary, is there a company that just sells the foam strips or are you just cutting rigid foam?
wilyum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 04:44 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Vapour barrier around studs?


Go ahead, but make sure that the drywall insulation is perfect shape and need not be replaced anytime soon! I had a similar situation where in I thought the drywall did not need a replacement but I soon found it to be worn out. And I had to call up the 1800 Drywall people in Toronto asap!
ericjones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 10:51 PM   #7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,967
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Vapour barrier around studs?


"The drywall is in great shape and don't want to replace it."------------- if you want to leave the drywall and not add a vapor barrier at all, just add enough foamboard sheathing on the studs to prevent cavity condensation; http://www.buildingscience.com/docum...r-requirements

It would require adding trim to existing windows/doors, though. I believe your code calls for FB and a rainscreen approach, check with local AHJ.

Gary
PS. Welcome to the forums, Eric J!
__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2014, 11:34 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Northern Ontario
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Vapour barrier around studs?


Could i not just add kraft faced batts from the outside, as long as the paper was facing the drywall, like u would to insulate the joists in an unvented crawlspace? Or how about 3.5" rigid foam sealed at the edges with spray foam, like u do when u insulate a rim joist? would either of these work without a vapour barrier?
wilyum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 09:56 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Northern Ontario
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Vapour barrier around studs?


anyone?
wilyum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 10:20 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Southeast MA
Posts: 590
Rewards Points: 510
Default

Vapour barrier around studs?


Neither of those would work withOUT a vapor barrier....because both of them ARE vapor barriers, the rigid foam itself and the kraft paper on the fiberglass. For me everything depends on what you want to accomplish. If you just want to tighten things up a bit without touching inside, I'd probably use polyurethane rigid foam closed cell. Comes in widths that slide into a standard stud bay, can get up to r-28 at 3 1/2 inch thickness and is ok to work with. Wouldn't concern myself with doing anything to the studs themselves unless you want to mess with the trim on all of your windows and doors plus there is very little "vapor" making its way through a stud. So slide the foam into place and use some expanding foam in a can to seal edges if necessary. Ron
ront02769 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 10:35 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 411
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Vapour barrier around studs?


Fiberglass insulation should be stapled so is doesn't fall down so it wouldnt work
JustinK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 11:30 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Southeast MA
Posts: 590
Rewards Points: 510
Default

Vapour barrier around studs?


Not really, it will friction fit and stay right where it is supposed. Just buy the right product, called something like "speed batts" or "fast batts". Ron
ront02769 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 02:04 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Northern Ontario
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Vapour barrier around studs?


So sounds like both options will work, im going to guess the foam would be superior insulator and would last longer, and in areas with lots of wires put the batts?
wilyum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 06:15 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Southeast MA
Posts: 590
Rewards Points: 510
Default

Vapour barrier around studs?


The rigid foam will give you more higher r-value and lower u-value than the fiberglass in the ace that you have to work in. That said, some is better than nothing. Ron
ront02769 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2014, 10:49 PM   #15
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,967
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Vapour barrier around studs?


Quote:
Originally Posted by wilyum View Post
Could i not just add kraft faced batts from the outside, as long as the paper was facing the drywall, like u would to insulate the joists in an unvented crawlspace? Or how about 3.5" rigid foam sealed at the edges with spray foam, like u do when u insulate a rim joist? would either of these work without a vapour barrier?

Your location requires a Class 1 (poly) vapor barrier, though the local AHJ may possibly accept rigid foamboard only (I doubt it), check with them. The asphalt paper-faced fg is only a Class 2;http://www.buildingscience.com/docum...vapor-barriers


http://www.buildingscience.com/docum...vapor-barriers Also requires a ventilated cladding= rainscreen.

Gary

__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vapour Barrier Sealant question Mark Harvey Building & Construction 2 01-31-2012 08:29 PM
Vapour Barrier vs Vapour Retarder in Basement Floor. PTO Flooring 0 07-14-2011 12:41 AM
Metal shed require vapour barrier? Mark Harvey Building & Construction 1 01-07-2011 07:25 PM
basement insulation and vapour barrier coolnes Remodeling 11 02-01-2009 09:56 AM
Vapour Barrier Patching? mfleming Building & Construction 3 04-29-2008 01:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.