Vapor Barrier Not Used? - Insulation - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Insulation

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-28-2012, 02:24 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Vapor barrier not used?


I live in Northwest Ohio. I am remodeling and putting 6 mil vapor barrier behind the drywall on the walls and ceilings. I was trying to find the red tape (semi-transparent) that is specifically used for vapor barrier taping. My local Lowes store did not sell it, Home Depot didn't sell it, and Menard's website said they had it but when I went there, they didn't have it either. The people in the store did not seem to know what I was looking for. They wanted to sell me tape that is used on the exterior for Tyvek House Wrap. Maybe that tape is the same, but I doubt it. So I ended up having to buy the tape on the internet.

Also, Lowes and Home Depot here do not sell the vapor barrier plastic covers that go behind electrical outlets.

This makes me think that no one uses a vapor barrier here, which I think is dumb. I know there is some debate on whether or not they should be used, but this is certainly a cold enough climate that I think it is necessary. The paper vapor retarder that comes on kraft-faced insulation probably helps some, but isn't enough in my opinion.

Has anyone else had trouble finding these vapor barrier products?

Advertisement

bhry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 02:57 PM   #2
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Washington DC Metro Area (VA, MD, DC)
Posts: 7,136
Rewards Points: 3,292
Default

Vapor barrier not used?


Don't need it where you are. Airtight drywall is more effective.

Advertisement

Windows on Wash is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 03:07 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Vapor barrier not used?


Drywall will stop the air leaks, but moisture will go right through it. The moisture then condenses inside the wall, on the fiberglass insulation. Insulation doesn't work very well when it's wet and there can also be mold problems.
bhry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 03:15 PM   #4
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Washington DC Metro Area (VA, MD, DC)
Posts: 7,136
Rewards Points: 3,292
Default

Vapor barrier not used?


Air carries more than 50x more water. Vapor retarders are not required for your zone and depending on application can create more issues than they solve.
Windows on Wash is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Windows on Wash For This Useful Post:
Canucker (07-28-2012)
Old 07-28-2012, 07:00 PM   #5
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,423
Rewards Points: 2,508
Default

Vapor barrier not used?


Someone has been watching too much Holmes on Homes & Homes Inspections.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 02:02 AM   #6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,993
Rewards Points: 2,052
Default

Vapor barrier not used?


You need a vapor retarder, just not a Class 1 for your Zone 5: http://www.buildingscience.com/docum...commendations/

http://www.buildingscience.com/docum...doctypes/diges

Gary
__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 12:22 PM   #7
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Washington DC Metro Area (VA, MD, DC)
Posts: 7,136
Rewards Points: 3,292
Default

Vapor barrier not used?


Quote:
Originally Posted by GBR in WA View Post
Yes. Sorry about that. I always forget to separate out vapor retarders by class.

Advertisement

Windows on Wash is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts