Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Insulation

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-29-2012, 04:42 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

running romex


i installed a tv in my kitchen on the wall and am attempting to run romex for an outlet behind the TV i have cut out my outlet and now am attempting to run romex down to another outlet , but the wall is insulated . How do I get the romex through?
pnut1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 05:00 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Fairbanks, AK
Posts: 1,837
Default

running romex


Is it legal, and aesthetically acceptable, to run the romex on the inside of the wall, in flex or rigid conduit? Otherwise, tear out as much sheet rock as you need to and drill holes in studs. If the holes are not deep enough (2"?) you'll need metal plates over the holes before you replace the sheet rock. Otherwise, try to go down a flight, if possible, and work through a basement (??????) if you have open floor joists, then pop back up into the wall. That will minimize your destruction. You can drop a weighted string down the wall and catch the wire from below, pulling the wire back up: If you are real lucky.
jklingel is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jklingel For This Useful Post:
Windows on Wash (03-29-2012)
Old 03-29-2012, 06:24 PM   #3
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: VA, MD, DC
Posts: 5,065
Default

running romex


Fish tape or string like jklingel said.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Windows on Wash is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 12:02 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Fairbanks, AK
Posts: 1,837
Default

running romex


Quote:
Originally Posted by Windows on Wash View Post
Fish tape....
Now you're getting all fancy on us!
jklingel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
romex connection to receptacle apshirm Electrical 3 09-15-2011 02:28 PM
A Couple of Questions About Running Romex Wire Near Utilities toobhed Electrical 4 08-26-2011 08:15 AM
Running ROMEX into Conduit tlj Electrical 15 11-05-2009 07:20 PM
Running romex along a wall in a closet Red Squirrel Electrical 16 10-02-2009 08:44 PM
taco 700 constantly running.... drizzyboy HVAC 3 11-27-2007 07:03 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.