Removing Old Blown-in Insulation In Attic? - Insulation - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Insulation

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2012, 02:27 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 202
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Removing old blown-in insulation in attic?


I've seen/read about a machine that basically vacuums out the old blown in insulation. So I assume its some type of very big vacuum. I have a couple of questions:

1) Can re-use the insulation, correct? Is it not recommended?

2) Where do I find someone that does this? Would most any insulation install company do this?

3) What is the machine called and can I rent it somewhere?

Advertisement

imola ghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 09:45 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 4,104
Rewards Points: 2,680
Default

Removing old blown-in insulation in attic?


why do you want to remove it ?

Advertisement

Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 09:50 AM   #3
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,110
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Removing old blown-in insulation in attic?


Quote:
Originally Posted by imola ghost
I've seen/read about a machine that basically vacuums out the old blown in insulation. So I assume its some type of very big vacuum. I have a couple of questions:

1) Can re-use the insulation, correct? Is it not recommended?

2) Where do I find someone that does this? Would most any insulation install company do this?

3) What is the machine called and can I rent it somewhere?
1) NOT recommended, nor possible I believe.

2)Google. Most should be able to remove and replace with new.

3) Don't know the the name,don't think you can for removal. You can rent to install thou.
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 11:09 AM   #4
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Removing old blown-in insulation in attic?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fix'n it View Post
why do you want to remove it ?
Yeah, good question. If it's in the way, move it, if it's not enough, add to it. Unless it is damaged by mold or infestation leave it be.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 11:14 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 202
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Removing old blown-in insulation in attic?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fix'n it View Post
why do you want to remove it ?


I can understand but what I wanted to do was wire up the house for whole house audio and while I was there caulk and seal up all light fixtures and holes that I see. The best way that I can see to do this thoroughly is to remove old (since I'm going to replace with spray foam and blown in cellulose) and that would allow me to move around freely and completely seal up the house.
imola ghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 11:32 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 4,104
Rewards Points: 2,680
Default

Removing old blown-in insulation in attic?


Quote:
Originally Posted by imola ghost View Post
I can understand but what I wanted to do was wire up the house for whole house audio and while I was there caulk and seal up all light fixtures and holes that I see. The best way that I can see to do this thoroughly is to remove old (since I'm going to replace with spray foam and blown in cellulose) and that would allow me to move around freely and completely seal up the house.
i am in the same boat. except i have old batt insulation. i was thinking about just just moving it to one or two areas and piling it up. as getting it out of the attic would be a BEAR.
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 12:32 PM   #7
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Washington DC Metro Area (VA, MD, DC)
Posts: 7,093
Rewards Points: 3,244
Default

Removing old blown-in insulation in attic?


Most insulation companies will have a vacuum or can recommend someone with one.

If you are doing a full re-wire and air sealing, it is nicer to have it all out and a blank canvas.
Windows on Wash is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 12:48 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 202
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Removing old blown-in insulation in attic?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Windows on Wash View Post
Most insulation companies will have a vacuum or can recommend someone with one.

If you are doing a full re-wire and air sealing, it is nicer to have it all out and a blank canvas.
That's what I'm doing.
imola ghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 06:18 PM   #9
Just a DIY guy
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Southern California
Posts: 297
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Removing old blown-in insulation in attic?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Windows on Wash View Post
Most insulation companies will have a vacuum or can recommend someone with one.

If you are doing a full re-wire and air sealing, it is nicer to have it all out and a blank canvas.
Nicer yes, but what's the cost to replace it all?

I'm doing air sealing little by little under my R19 batts. Replacing all of them would cost about $1500, not including all the extra time to cut everything to fit. R30 would be about $2200. That buys a lot of gas and electricity.

Maybe the blown in is a lot cheaper?
M3 Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 06:29 PM   #10
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Washington DC Metro Area (VA, MD, DC)
Posts: 7,093
Rewards Points: 3,244
Default

Removing old blown-in insulation in attic?


Quote:
Originally Posted by M3 Pete View Post
Nicer yes, but what's the cost to replace it all?

I'm doing air sealing little by little under my R19 batts. Replacing all of them would cost about $1500, not including all the extra time to cut everything to fit. R30 would be about $2200. That buys a lot of gas and electricity.

Maybe the blown in is a lot cheaper?

Blown in is cheaper and more effective for that matter. Win...Win
Windows on Wash is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 09:54 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 202
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Removing old blown-in insulation in attic?


I'm going to do my bonus room with spray foam around all four outer walls. Then once I get the house wired up, sealed up around all the light fixtures and what not...I blow in about 36 inches of blown in insulation.
imola ghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 11:21 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 80
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Removing old blown-in insulation in attic?


I wonder if you could use a dust collector to remove it? Not sure about reusing it but then again why not? It's YOUR house...

Advertisement

Justgaff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
removing old attick blown in insulation acrazygy@yahoo. Insulation 1 02-16-2012 07:54 PM
Blown in insulation for un-insulated attic Cubey Insulation 10 10-19-2011 08:08 PM
Attic Insulation tim1218 Insulation 4 09-07-2011 11:18 AM
Attic insulation problem Dan77 Building & Construction 7 12-22-2010 03:10 PM
removing blown insulation jestersma Remodeling 8 05-30-2006 03:47 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts