Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Insulation

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-23-2012, 04:37 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 25

(Partial) Radiant Barrier Above Finished Attic?

I just read that for a radiant barrier to be effective, 80% of the surface area must be covered.

My house is in climate zone 5A. I have an original finished attic room that I am just beginning to insulate properly. The house was built in 1950. For the past six decades this house has leaked like a sieve. (However, all the ventilation has kept the roof in exquisite condition.)

One of the knee walls had NO insulation, there was no air seal on either knee wall, insulation was poor and poorly installed, there is no insulation on the south exterior wall, etc. The litany is endless. Already in mid-May, the attic has reached 120-deg F. The finished attic has already reached 90-deg F. As is, it will soon be uninhabitable.

While rewiring above the ceiling of the finished attic room, I intend to improve the insulation. This space is six feet wide and about three feet high. It runs N-S. There is a gable vent at the southern end, but the northern end of this 'tunnel' dead-ends. It was necessary to cut away 16-inch sections of four 1x6 planks to gain access to the tunnel. The roof structure is composed of these 1x6 planks laid on top of the rafters. The asphalt shingle roof is relatively new.

The sloped ceiling of the attic room comes up to the rafters on each side. Here, fiberglass insulation fills each channel between the rafters. The batts are 4-inch thick with a thicker black paper facing down towards the ceiling, and a thin, crumbling, tan paper facing up towards the roof. This tan paper provides a consistent channel of between 1”-2” for air flow from the soffits through the rafter channels to a ridge vent.