New Insulation Problem - Insulation - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Insulation

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-05-2011, 08:59 PM   #1
Indentured Servant

Rewards Points: 75

New Insulation problem

I am in the process of vaulting our upstairs ceiling and have finally come to the insulation step. My wife brought me home 10 batts of unfaced R38 that is supposed to be 16" wide and 12" thick, 4 feet long BU80 is the code number on it, Owens Corning.

I cut the bags open and was surprised that the batts didn't expand hardly at all, maybe got 6 to 8 inches thick. Well I shook them out best I could and put them up, disappointing but figuring that maybe this is the way the stuff is. (I am not experienced in insulation matters). It kind of sags in between the rafters even, not wanting to stay up. I am going to poly it so again, I was not real happy.

Well, I finished those 10 bundles and my wife brought me a second 10 bundle load home. I cut the first one open and all the batts in that bundle expanded to the 12 inches thick, nice fluffy and they friction fit great in the cavities!

Now I am faced with the thought that maybe there was a problem with the first load that I fought to stick up in the rafters. Should I tear it all down and bring it back? And how does one go about bringing back 430 square feet of insulation?

Advertisement

jackpine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 01:54 AM   #2
In a little over my head

Rewards Points: 516

New Insulation problem

It sounds to me that a call to Owens Corning is in order.

Advertisement

ratherbefishing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 03:41 PM   #3
Indentured Servant

New Insulation problem

Here is a photo of the good one and the bad one. I am not pleased at all right now.

Old 12-06-2011, 04:05 PM   #4

Rewards Points: 712

New Insulation problem