Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Insulation

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-26-2011, 06:01 PM   #1

Share |

Insulation type needed if using RedGard waterproofing?

Hello everyone! First off, I would like to say this forum is pretty cool! This is my first post, but have gleaned some good information from here already. So here is my sitution....
I am remodeling my bathroom and am trying to do it correct because whoever remodeled it years ago was an idiot I am no expert on building, but common sense apparently wasnt part of this persons genes.

So my question is this...I have an alcove that has two exterior walls where the tub will be going and I plan to use hardiebacker 1/2" for the entire wet area (including ceiling) and it will be tiled. I plan on using RedGard waterproofing membrane over the cbu, but not sure of what type of insulation to use behind the cbu for the exterior walls. Right now I have some new Certainteed R-15 in there with the paper facing on it, but I THINK the paper is also a vapor barrier, so I dont want to cause a situation with moisture build up between the cbu and insulation by having essentially a double vapor barrier. Should I remove the paper facing from the insulation or is it ok to keep it there when using Redgard?

bigphil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 10:57 AM   #2

Well, the theory goes that a waterproofing membrane such as RedGard will, if installed properly, prevent any vapour from diffusing across the cbu and into the wall structure where, in cold months, it will condense to water. As such, the problem 'goes away' in that no vapour=no problem...and therefore no vapour retarder behind the cbu is needed. Insulation yes - but no vapour retarder; I subscribe to that theory so I'd say either remove the little bit of faced insulation you have, or remove the paper facing of it...