Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Insulation

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-11-2011, 11:39 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 14
Share |
Default

Insulation in the attic when the furnace is up there


Just read the link about insulation options when your air handler/furnace and heating/cooling ducts are in the attic, and was surprised to read that you should not insulate the floor of your attic if (a) it is conditioned space (which mine will be), and (b) your furnace is up there, and (c) you insulate the roof rafters above.

Apparently the idea is that the attic floor insulation causes the main space below (e.g., in my bungalow cottage) to be warmer than the attic itself, even though you have insulated the attic rafters above. This makes sense of course, because the main living area below has both the ceiling/floor joist cavities and the attic rafters as insulation, whereas the attic only has the rafters as insulation. (in my case the rafters would have about R32 or so and the 2 x 10 floor could be filled up with another 40 or so if I wanted.)

This differential insulation for the main cottage below versus the attic would supposedly cause condensation as the warm air drifts upstairs to the attic, and perhaps even the reverse in the summer as hot air migrates down from the attic.

I'm a little confused about this, so I would appreciate any comments anyone would have, thanks.

Also, if I did insulate the floor of the attic as well as the attic rafters, would I have to completely enclose the floor joists with vapour barrier, or could I just do the bottom of the joist cavity (which is also of course the ceiling of the main floor below, which is T & G Cedar with stain and shelac or something similar.) The cottage is at least 75 years old, and the 2 X 10 ceiling/floor joists are 1.75" X 9.75" - beefier than today's 2 x 10 lumber.

J.


Last edited by Jimmybrp; 12-11-2011 at 12:51 PM.
Jimmybrp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 01:13 PM   #2
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: VA, MD, DC
Posts: 5,667
Default

Insulation in the attic when the furnace is up there


Where is the home located?

Having the furnace in the attic does not make the attic a conditioned space.

Unless you are going to be using the attic for conditioned space/storage, going with the traditional ventilated design is cheaper because the foam is expensive.

You need to make sure the ducts are well sealed and not leaking conditioned air into the attic.

Windows on Wash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 02:26 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 14
Default

Insulation in the attic when the furnace is up there


Quote:
Originally Posted by Windows on Wash View Post
Where is the home located?

Having the furnace in the attic does not make the attic a conditioned space.

Unless you are going to be using the attic for conditioned space/storage, going with the traditional ventilated design is cheaper because the foam is expensive.

You need to make sure the ducts are well sealed and not leaking conditioned air into the attic.
I forgot to mention that I will be using the attic and so I will be putting heat ducts up there.

The location is up in cottage country 2 hrs. North of Toronto, where it can get to be 20 below in the winter.

Last edited by Jimmybrp; 12-11-2011 at 07:06 PM.
Jimmybrp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newbie questions on refinishing walkup attic with knee walls FileOpen Insulation 2 11-19-2011 11:31 PM
I want more storage in the attic, have loose insulation, is it good? Flooring over? kaitala Insulation 7 11-04-2011 05:11 PM
AC Flex Duct - Suspend above attic insulation or lay it on top? fritzycat1 HVAC 13 08-17-2011 10:19 PM
Furnace is in attic, I want to move it because of efficiency issues... SimonSezz HVAC 1 01-22-2011 06:23 PM
Adding attic insulation pomelo Building & Construction 3 10-22-2009 05:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.