Insulating Bonus Room Roof - Insulation - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Insulation

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-22-2011, 01:04 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Insulating Bonus Room Roof

Alright, newbie here. I was planning on this being a pretty straight-forward project until I got in the bonus room and started looking around. I'd like to finish off the space and was planning on using baffles stapled to the sheathing and then placing fiberglass on top of that to vent it to the ridge vent. One problem ... my modular home company built two sections of the roof pieces (the front one and the rear one) with horizontal rafters meaning I can't place the baffles to vent it vertically to the ridge vent.

Any suggestions for handling horizontal rafters? On each side of the sections with the horizontal rafters are vertical rafters where I could vent to the ridge vent, could I vent horizontally then drill some holes?

I could post a picture if that would help ....

Any pointers are appreciated. Thanks.

Mike

Advertisement

Last edited by m6465; 08-23-2011 at 01:56 PM.
m6465 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 11:25 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 500

Quote:
Originally Posted by m6465 View Post
I could post a picture if that would help....
Yep...

Advertisement

Old 08-23-2011, 02:09 PM   #3

You can see from these pictures that the center section has horizontal rafters, with vertical rafters on either side. The front of the house is fine because there is a dormer with a window and I have vertical rafters leading to the ridge vent. Picture one shows the middle section with a glimpse of both sides, picture two is a close up of the right side.
Attached Thumbnails
Insulating Bonus Room Roof-picture-1.jpg   Insulating Bonus Room Roof-picture-2.jpg  
m6465 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 03:09 PM   #4

Rewards Points: 500