Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Insulation

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-22-2012, 10:01 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 13
Share |
Default

Insulating a 1905 Craftsman


We tore out the plaster in our kitchen and will be putting up the new drywall soon, what are your recommendations for insulating a home currently without a/c and heat, in Los Angeles? I'm looking for brands as well as any other details I am unaware of. Thanks in advance!

jillers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 10:06 PM   #2
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: VA, MD, DC
Posts: 5,916
Default

Insulating a 1905 Craftsman


Whats the exterior of the home?

Wall Depths, construction type, etc?

Windows on Wash is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 10:09 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 13
Default

Insulating a 1905 Craftsman


Wood siding without sheathing and true 2x4s. I'm not sure what else you need.
jillers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 05:46 AM   #4
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: VA, MD, DC
Posts: 5,916
Default

Insulating a 1905 Craftsman


Any signs of moisture behind the wood siding?

How insulated are you trying to make the space?

You are climate zone 3 and your insulation/vapor retarder guidelines are relatively lax.

http://publicecodes.citation.com/ico..._11_sec002.htm

Given the fact that your wall is a true 4" wall, you could overstuff a 2x6 wall batt, put 1" foam in the stud bays (pay attention here to the permeability equation) and put fiberglass/mineral wool, etc batt inside of that.
Windows on Wash is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 09:31 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 13
Default

Insulating a 1905 Craftsman


No signs of moisture.

Although we do not have heat or air now, we would like to in the future and don't want to reinsulate at that point.
jillers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 09:38 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,219
Default

Insulating a 1905 Craftsman


While it's open do any wiring or adding of outlets. If it's ballon framing make sure to block the bottom and tops of the walls, if the walls over 8ft. tall add block 1/2 way up the wall for a fire block, if there's any wiring or plumbing make sure the oversized holes get filled with expanding foam.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
jillers (01-27-2012)
Old 01-27-2012, 10:02 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 13
Default

Insulating a 1905 Craftsman


Thanks Joe!

We are in the middle of new electrical and plumbing too. We will make sure to fill holes with expanding foam, and add the fireblocking.

jillers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Snowblower: Craftsman vs Poulan wiz561 General DIY Discussions 10 10-29-2011 02:29 PM
Insulating furnace/utility area cbrc5eric Building & Construction 3 04-30-2010 12:03 PM
Options for insulating a concrete block house Ptron Building & Construction 7 04-05-2010 03:55 PM
Insulating basement ceiling - your recommendations? jtmann HVAC 8 11-24-2009 04:44 PM
Insulating brick above & close to grade Peter Shepherd Building & Construction 1 09-16-2009 06:41 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.