Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Insulation

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-22-2014, 01:21 PM   #1

Share |
Question

Insulating 100 year old wood framed Home

Hi,

Newbie here.
I have lucked out and been given Rmax rigid foam insulation. I have four bales of them with 64 pieces to a bale. The sheets are 4x8 and 3/4" thick. They are double sided foil faced. I also have one stack that has 8 sheets with 2 3/4" and 4x8. Along with that, I have a huge amount of fiberglass batting.

My home is over 110 years old in the original part, and has had additions over the century. Only three rooms have insulation in the walls and roof. Two of those rooms are on columns and the floor is exposed to the outside . The rest of the house is uninsulated. My attic is going to be a second story one day. (I say one day because this is a paycheck to paycheck venture with 6 kids running around). It is totally uninsulated. My house (except for two above mentioned rooms) sits on an uninsulated walk through basement with concrete block walls. The roof is metal except in the back addition.

I live in South Carolina which is zone 3 for r value specifications.

There is no vapor barrier in my basement. No vents in my attic.

I need to know what is the best application for the rigid insulation as well as the fiberglass batting.

Can I use multiple layers of the boards to increase the r-value? Which is best interior or exterior application. I will have to take down either the plank siding on the outside or the sheetrock or tongue and groove wall on the inside.

From what I have been reading. I have a lot of prep work before I just throw up some insulation, and I want to do it right and make sure we are being well insulated.

I cannot afford blown cellulose which I know would be best for my walls. I am going to use what I got.

Hopeful Mama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2014, 01:46 PM   #2

Quote: