Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Insulation

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-03-2013, 06:03 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 14
Share |
Default

how to detail outlets on thick rigid foam walls


While I think this question might be under the topic of electrical I have a feeling that people in this group have dealt with this issue before.

I am working on a project that will re-skin my house. In the end the exterior walls will be 2 3/4" thick from the outside of the stud to the outside of the siding (1/2" plywood, Tyvek, 1"XPS, 3/4" Rainscreen, 1/2" Siding) I plan on using Quickflash (http://www.quickflashproducts.com/pr...lectrical.html) for all wall penetrations, to tie into the tyvek. But I'm having a hard time visualizing how the details work on the outlet and 3/0 electrical boxes.

So for example the max depth on the E-SGB-C is 1 3/8". The quick flashing goes at the tyvek layer, that still leaves 2 1/4" (2 3/4 - 1/2 plywood) to the outside of the siding. That means i'm left with a 1 1/8" gap. how do I deal with that?

Most of the outdoor covers I've seen only have a small lip on the back.

Any thoughts or input would be great! pic would be even better.

thanks

mmoses101-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 07:48 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,333
Default

how to detail outlets on thick rigid foam walls


I hope that's not the order you plan on covering that outside wall.
I can see that being a double vapor and having moisture trapped inside the walls.
Have you checked to see how much wiring is available inside the outlet boxes.
Need enough so there's no hidden junctions in behind the wall.
Do you plan on pulling all the windows and doors and resetting them to that new wall thickness?

__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 10:10 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 14
Default

how to detail outlets on thick rigid foam walls


Not to sideline the question, which is about detailing outlets not wall assembly...but yes that is order and no there is no double vapor barrier. Tyvek is vapor permeable.
http://www2.dupont.com/Tyvek_Weather...ads/K01472.pdf

The wall enclosure follows a well understand Building Science design.
http://www.buildingscience.com/docum...e-perfect-wall

mmoses101-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
outlets, xps


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Insulating Basement w/ Rigid Foam and Batt Reilley Building & Construction 4 08-03-2013 10:07 PM
Foam vs. Cellulose insulation in walls nhoj Insulation 10 12-19-2012 06:56 AM
Fireblocking top of rigid foam board? ndmeier Insulation 1 02-01-2012 08:27 PM
Drywall over 1-1.5" rigid foam? michael76 Drywall & Plaster 23 05-22-2011 03:07 AM
Best Foam for Basement Walls? heybrady Remodeling 5 08-19-2008 10:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.