Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Insulation

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-31-2012, 01:20 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Crawl space vent and mold question

I have a dirt crawl space that is vented, typical where I live in Southern California. I notice that inside my home, there is mild mildew/mold on the plaster walls. I use damp rid near the problem areas and it has helped but not 100% effective.

I noticed that the walls that have the issue are near the vented crawl space areas. I am not a rocket scientist but I think the humidity and draft is coming through those vents and affecting my inner walls.

I have read on the building science website that a completed crawl space is recommended, closed vents and vapor barrier. My only reluctance is that pricing maybe out of my affordable range and if only one area is not sealed correctly, there can be humidity locked in that space.

I was wondering what my options would be otherwise?

I was thinking maybe keep the vents open and possibly look into closed spray foam under the floor boards and over the joists?

Maybe just spray foam the areas near the open vents only?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

jimleahman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 03:04 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 80

Is there a 6 mil. vaper barrier on the ground under the house?
Has the crawl space been air sealed? (sealing up all the holes where plumbing and wiring was run thorugh the bottom plates)
Insulated the rim joist?

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 03:39 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Is there a 6 mil. vaper barrier on the ground under the house?
Has the crawl space been air sealed? (sealing up all the holes where plumbing and wiring was run thorugh the bottom plates)
Insulated the rim joist?
there is nothing in the crawl space besides what was there when the home was built originally in 1954.