Chimney - Insulation - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Insulation

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2014, 09:06 AM   #1
DIY Homeowner
 
Barry J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Gardner,MA
Posts: 224
Rewards Points: 154
Default

Chimney


Can I or should I put insulation around my chimney in my attic, and if yes, which kind should I use?
Thanks
Barry

Advertisement

Barry J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2014, 09:45 AM   #2
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Washington DC Metro Area (VA, MD, DC)
Posts: 7,085
Rewards Points: 3,238
Default

Chimney


Not really necessary.

It should be properly air sealed to the attic floor as a default.

Advertisement

Windows on Wash is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2014, 09:48 AM   #3
DIY Homeowner
 
Barry J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Gardner,MA
Posts: 224
Rewards Points: 154
Default

Chimney


How should I "air seal"???

Thanks
Barry J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2014, 10:10 AM   #4
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Washington DC Metro Area (VA, MD, DC)
Posts: 7,085
Rewards Points: 3,238
Default

Chimney


You want to use a non-combustible against the fire place and give yourself enough room to accommodate the insulation thickness.



This is the only picture that I could find and it doesn't illustrate the building upward of the sheet metal but it does show them insulating the chimney with roxul.
Windows on Wash is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2014, 10:44 AM   #5
DIY Homeowner
 
Barry J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Gardner,MA
Posts: 224
Rewards Points: 154
Default

Chimney


I've seen aluminum foil wrapped around the bottom part of chimney in a home improvement book, what does that do???
Barry J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 12:19 PM   #6
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Washington DC Metro Area (VA, MD, DC)
Posts: 7,085
Rewards Points: 3,238
Default

Chimney


Keeps the combustibles off the brick.
Windows on Wash is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 02:19 PM   #7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,972
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

Chimney


If the attic is ventilated it will be close to the outside air temperature. If so, and you have trouble with back-drafting when cold outside, insulating it will help. "Cold hearth"; http://woodheat.org/fireplace-tight-house.html Be sure to use an air-barrier around it after insulating (to prevent BackD) as Roxul is air permeable and subject to wind-washing in most ventilated attics.

Gary
__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 11:16 AM   #8
DIY Homeowner
 
Barry J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Gardner,MA
Posts: 224
Rewards Points: 154
Default

Chimney


The attic is ventilated and as cold as the outside. Right now I have to tackle the air sealing with fire barrier caulk, if I was to add more metal when I seal, is window/ door flashing alright to use???
After I seal, I'll add some unfaced batts around the chimney over the original insulation.
Can I place the batts right against the chimney??
Also, I don't know if this matters, but it's my chimney that ventilated the oil furnance. I have no fireplace
Thanks
Barry J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 05:36 PM   #9
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Washington DC Metro Area (VA, MD, DC)
Posts: 7,085
Rewards Points: 3,238
Default

Chimney


Use Roxul and the batts are fine. You can cover them with a housewrap (tyvek) to prevent the wind washing.
Windows on Wash is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 09:46 PM   #10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,972
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

Chimney


The link left an air space around the chimney, required per code. This is one of those local interpretations where asking the local AHJ is the answer. http://www.greenbuildingadvisor.com/...terior-chimney

pp.37; http://www.buildingscience.com/docum...sealing-guide/

Codes can be tricky; http://www.rumford.com/code/fireblocking.html

Following the code, the unfaced fiberglass batts- no loose-fill- require 16" tall for acceptable fire-block of vertical spaces....... http://publicecodes.cyberregs.com/ic...002_par019.htm

Gary

Advertisement

__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to install chimney liner Rockford How To Guides 3 07-16-2012 05:15 PM
Why a Chimney Liner? Rockford HVAC 0 07-12-2012 11:03 AM
How To Install a Chimney Liner Rockford How To Guides 0 01-24-2012 11:00 AM
Looks like leaking around the chimney - roofer says it is the chimney itself Salvatorparadise Roofing/Siding 6 03-07-2008 04:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts