Cathedral Ceiling Vent-Barrier-Insulation Question - Insulation - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Insulation

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-08-2012, 11:14 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Cathedral Ceiling Vent-Barrier-Insulation Question

Newbie Here...

I am retrofitting a ranch home in Michigan. Any comments on using a double layer of rigid foam board in a Cathedral Ceiling design as described in the link to the following article? -

http://www.homesandcottages.com/Arti...x?ArticleId=41

I appreciate any comments as I have a very similar situation - I am using 2" rigid foam board with a 1" vent channel from eaves to ridge between every rafter. Then I plan to add batting below the foam.

I am wondering about if/how to seal the joints and seams around the foam board and whether to add more rigid foam board below - and/or a plastic vapor barrier.

I am concerned about the possibility of creating a "vapor sandwich" between the bottom layer of foam and/or plastic and the top layer of foam, with batting in-between.

Additionally, would there be any problem with adding multiple layers of rigid foam directly on top of one another? Would this create a possibility of condensation in-between?

Finally, in using a plastic barrier, what products should I use to seal the overlaps and outer edges?

thanks for your comments! DrMo

Advertisement

DrMo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 11:25 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,080

Welcome to the forums!

I couldn't get your link to open.....

Does this cover it?: http://www.buildingscience.com/docum...n-roof-venting

Gary

Advertisement

Old 01-10-2012, 09:43 AM   #3
Exterior Construction

Rewards Points: 3,306

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrMo View Post
Newbie Here...