Basement Insulation Questions - Insulation - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Insulation

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-26-2014, 07:33 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 77
Question

Basement Insulation Questions

Hi Folks,

I'm a novice DIY'er in the process of finishing my basement. I've just passed my rough-in electrical and framing inspections and I'm ready for insulation.

I live in St. Louis, MO. The foundation walls are 9 feet tall. The house is built into a hill and two of the four foundation walls are above grade. In addition the garage is essentially in the basement. I'm interested and insulating the following areas: in ceiling for sound, interior walls between garage and to-be finished basement area, interior walls surround the HVAC room, rim joist area, and finally the framed walls around the foundation walls.

I have a number of questions:
1.What type of insulation should I use for the garage walls? Regular faced fiberglass batts?
2.In the ceiling, should I use fiberglass or a product mineral wool type product?
3.How is unfaced fiberglass batts held up in a wall?
4.For the rim joist, would sealing the seams with caulk and filling with fiberglass be acceptable? I'm concerned about the effort required to place rigid foam in the cavity with engineered floor joists.
5.Finally the tricky one...What to do for the exterior walls?
For the exterior walls, I strongly considered putting up the rigid foam board, but did not. I did leave an air gap of 1" +/- 1/2" between the framed and foundation wall. I also have areas unfished storage areas that will have foundation walls as a perimeter?

Long post I know, it could probably be simplified to asking what insulation type should I use for each part of my basement.

Advertisement

mklein49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 07:49 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 10