Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Insulation

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-05-2013, 06:21 PM   #1
Member
 
listo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 110
Share |
Default

attic questions


Is there an easy way to check for air leaks into an attic with blown in cellulose? I know with the Batts you can look for dirty areas but that won't work with the cellulose.

Do i need to put rafter vents in between each rafter or is every second one good? I heard every second one was good awhile back but now I've read otherwise.

Is there a problem with putting blown in fiberglass over cellulose? I have about 7 inches of cell and wanna beef it up.

listo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 06:55 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,968
Default

attic questions


You don't. If you want to figure out where the holes are, they would be where any DWV (Drain Waste Venting) enters the attic, wiring from switches or up the wall to lights, etc., coax, ethernet, telephone enters the attic.

Basically you would go through and use Big Stuff Fire stop, or caulk to seal any openings into the attic, then move the blown-in insulation back in place. Make sure that you have baffles at the edge of the attic, where the roof meets the top plate along the outside edges.

How deep is the layer that you have up there currently?

__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: So what'll happen?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 07:08 PM   #3
Member
 
listo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 110
Default

attic questions


There's about 7 inches up there now.

Baffles, vents same thing?
listo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 07:14 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 24,597
Default

attic questions


No ones going to know if that's enough unless you go back and add your location.
People that are on this site are in almost every country.
Go to Quick links to edit your location.
What do you have for soffit and roof venting?
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (08-05-2013)
Old 08-05-2013, 07:21 PM   #5
Member
 
listo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 110
Default

attic questions


I'm in Saskatchewan, canada, near saskatoon.

Wasn't asking if I had enough though lol. I already know I need r50 at least.

I have continuous soffit just wondering if I need baffles in every rafter or is every second one ok?
listo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 07:30 PM   #6
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,968
Default

attic questions


I would place baffles at every rafter bay, do not skip any. You want continuous airflow up there, to not only keep it cool in the Summer, but not allow Ice Dams in the Winter.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: So what'll happen?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 07:34 PM   #7
Member
 
listo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 110
Default

attic questions


Thanks guys that's what I figured but was hoping for the opposite answers

listo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Insulation in the attic when the furnace is up there Jimmybrp Insulation 2 12-11-2011 02:26 PM
Cellulose Insulation Questions... Master Brian Building & Construction 13 09-07-2010 08:09 PM
Attic insulation questions. SELLC HVAC 7 10-14-2009 05:29 AM
Powered Attic Fan question spup345 Roofing/Siding 9 06-30-2008 08:10 PM
Attic Ventilation Questions AllGoNoShow Roofing/Siding 4 11-26-2006 12:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.