Attic Insulation - Baffles, Air Flow Questions - Insulation - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Insulation

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-22-2012, 04:55 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 39

Attic Insulation - Baffles, Air Flow Questions

I am looking to blow in insulation (green fiber) in my 1,300 SQ FT attic. I’m a Zone 5 here in suburbs of Chicago, IL. The house was built in ’75 and I’ve lived here almost 2 years.

Until last week, if I heard “batts and attic”, I would’ve called an exterminator, so I’m very new to all this.

I have already sealed the attic and am looking to install the baffles and cover any electrical items in the next few days before I blow the insulation in. The attic is very challenging to get into places around the edges, because of existing insulation, narrow passage and most importantly the nails poking through the roof.

I have three questions:

1.) I have 10 soffit vents but no way to know if they’re open. I can’t access them from the attic and can’t get them from a window. I do NOT have a ridge vent, but do have an attic fan. I already installed the baffles on one side of the roof, but do I need them since there is no ridge vent? I’d prefer not to take them down again, but would if that’s the right thing to do

2.) There are significant “gaps” between the attic floor and the walls. I’m assuming these are “soffits” and should NOT be filled with insulation. In the green circle, it's actually space before it gets to the board behind it.
<BR><BR>

3.) Do I need to cover these electrical boxes with sheet metal?

Many thanks

Advertisement

Last edited by majch; 03-22-2012 at 08:14 PM.
majch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 05:32 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 1,000