Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Insulation

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-04-2013, 04:27 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montana
Posts: 124
Share |
Default

Attic Insulation


So my house does not have an eve overhang like most newer houses and just has an angled fascia board. When I replaced the fascia I also added the vents you can see in the photo, these vents are not in every bay (not sure if they need to be).

So now i'm on to fixing the insulation in the attic as there is basically none. Being as the above vents are not in every bay should I still put baffles in each bay or just the ones that have the vents?

Also rather than baffles in the bay could I just cut a piece of plywood and attack it to the underside of the rafters and push the insulation up to that?


Thanks,
Attached Thumbnails
Attic Insulation-img_20130427_092018.jpg  

dabeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 12:03 AM   #2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,968
Default

Attic Insulation


Figure the NFVA using the tables/math; http://www.airvent.com/homeowner/pro...it-specs.shtml

Figure the intakes (should be a NFVA # on them: http://www.lomanco.com/intakemain.html

Use a baffle in every bay out of foam board; http://www.buildingscience.com/docum...n-roof-venting

Add fb stacked on the ext. wall top plate after air sealing entire attic; http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&sourc...cMUmwWATQw&cad

Gary

__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 11:07 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montana
Posts: 124
Default

Attic Insulation


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary in WA View Post

Add fb stacked on the ext. wall top plate

Gary
Not sure what you mean by that and also don't understand from the link.

Thanks,
dabeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 02:35 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,968
Default

Attic Insulation


Sorry, foam board laid flat and stacked to get minimum R-value required for your Zone (R-49) due to low clearance between roof sheathing/drywall. If unable to get full R-value per code for ceiling, at least get minimum (per code) for walls (R-20) to use up there. http://energycode.pnl.gov/EnergyCode...?state=Montana

The link was on air sealing the attic, did it not work?

Gary
PS. You may want to add a handrail and close off the risers on your front steps, to make min. code for liability/safety for visitors; http://publicecodes.cyberregs.com/ic...2_3_par104.htm

http://publicecodes.cyberregs.com/ic...2_3_par108.htm

May also need a landing/guardrails, check with local AHJ; http://publicecodes.cyberregs.com/ic...2_3_par109.htm as you may be under that part of the IRC; http://www.reedconstructiondata.com/...codes/montana/

Never-mind.... on closer look it appears those are temporary stairs... lol.
__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.

Last edited by Gary in WA; 12-05-2013 at 02:37 PM.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 02:39 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montana
Posts: 124
Default

Attic Insulation


Yea there is a deck there now. That picture was taken last fall after the siding was done.
dabeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 07:53 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,968
Default

Attic Insulation


I realized that, thanks! Any other questions?

Gary
__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 09:30 PM   #7
Solutions (handyman)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Central Alberta Canada
Posts: 332
Default

Attic Insulation


I see in the picture that you have venting in the soffits, but is there any on the roof? You need the folw of air to be effective. As to insulation,every "bay" should be blocked where the wall and roof meet, ... leaving about 1" gap for air. Consider blow-in insulation, you can get better overall coverage and add to it, if need be, at a future time.
Mark Harvey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2013, 06:20 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,477
Default

Attic Insulation


i used fanfoil for my baffles. cut it to fit each bay. cut it to let it go on top of the top plate. staple on to underside of rafters. at the top plate, xps pieces with spray foam to make the ff go up to about 1" from the roof sheathing.
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2013, 06:23 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,477
Default

Attic Insulation


here is a good pic ( i ran out of xps pieces at this point).
Attached Thumbnails
Attic Insulation-img_2156.jpg  
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 09:31 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montana
Posts: 124
Default

Attic Insulation


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Harvey View Post
I see in the picture that you have venting in the soffits, but is there any on the roof? You need the folw of air to be effective. As to insulation,every "bay" should be blocked where the wall and roof meet, ... leaving about 1" gap for air. Consider blow-in insulation, you can get better overall coverage and add to it, if need be, at a future time.
All the roof vents are on the back of the house.
dabeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 02:36 PM   #11
Solutions (handyman)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Central Alberta Canada
Posts: 332
Default

Attic Insulation


Hi Montana, It's looking good. Here is a mental picture. Think of an attic as a room above your living area. Underneath is usually covered with something like a floor (ceiling drywall or other material) then the walls (your roof). The bottom should be well insulated to keep the heat in the living area ... in the living area. above that, you want air circulation from the soffits up and out through your vents. Personally I prefer a ridge vent over other types. (A ridge vent runs the entire lenght of your roof line and literally vents the total space evenly). The same concept applies if the roof is to have insulation attached to the trusses, you still need that air flow from the soffits up and out, that's why there is a gap above the solid insulation and the wood sheathing (your roof). Hope his helps. Mark

Mark Harvey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can/should I add insulation underneath stationary stairs to my attic? Bitruder Insulation 3 12-28-2012 11:04 PM
Attic Insulation Help Needed-What type, etc HandyFrank Building & Construction 9 12-15-2011 01:54 PM
Help with complicated insulation project in attic OhmZoned Insulation 12 11-19-2011 08:49 AM
Blown in insulation for un-insulated attic Cubey Insulation 10 10-19-2011 07:08 PM
Attic insulation problem Dan77 Building & Construction 7 12-22-2010 02:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.