Air Handler - Insulation - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Insulation

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-08-2012, 02:13 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

air handler


We have an air handler in our attic and although the attic is well insulated, it is still quite cold up there in the winter. In an attempt to control heating costs, would it make sense to wrap the air handler with insulation or maybe some type of product out there specific for air handlers? Maybe you should never cover an air handler, I don't know. Our attic space is totally dry, never any condensation on the air handler, etc.
Thanks,
Janice D.

Advertisement

jdecker22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 02:35 PM   #2
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,804
Rewards Points: 2,282
Default

air handler


Quote:
Originally Posted by jdecker22 View Post
...although the attic is well insulated, it is still quite cold up there in the winter.
"They all do that, Ma'am" In fact, they're supposed to.

Quote:
We have an air handler in our attic...
attempt to control heating costs, would it make sense to wrap the air handler with insulation or maybe some type of product out there specific for air handlers?
The duct should certainly be insulated...
but not the equipment itself.

hth

Advertisement

TarheelTerp is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TarheelTerp For This Useful Post:
Windows on Wash (01-09-2012)
Old 01-09-2012, 08:44 AM   #3
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Washington DC Metro Area (VA, MD, DC)
Posts: 7,101
Rewards Points: 3,258
Default

air handler


Quote:
Originally Posted by TarheelTerp View Post
"They all do that, Ma'am" In fact, they're supposed to.



The duct should certainly be insulated...
but not the equipment itself.

hth
+1

Are the duct lines rigid or flex? More of the inefficiency losses are are via forced air losses through the duct connection to the attic.

If they are flex lines, cut the straps down that support the lines up and put them in the insulation along the floor.
Windows on Wash is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Air handler leaking kcamnairb HVAC 4 08-17-2011 05:32 PM
SPace Pak Air Handler Wiring Question--208-230/60/1 metal121 HVAC 5 05-07-2009 06:52 AM
Space Pac Air Handler Wiring--208-230/60/1 Volts metal121 Electrical 4 05-05-2009 11:20 AM
Proper way to clean the air handler drain lines lithium1330 HVAC 2 11-25-2008 10:48 AM
Replacing air handler - How to fit when form factors are slightly different?? hennyh HVAC 2 11-16-2006 09:23 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts