Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care > Gardening Forum

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-08-2011, 09:38 AM   #1
LGF

Rewards Points: 10
Question

Sprinkler hose leaks

Periodically, I find the ground wet from an underground sprinkler hose which has sprouted a pinhole leak. I have to dig up the hose and splice a new section of hose in which is a major pain in the neck. The leaks appear anywhere in the line and no stones or roots are near the leak. Is there a reason this happens? The hose is standard black plastic hose that sprinkler companies used when the system was installed and it is fairly old. Still, I don't see a reason for pinhole leaks to happen unless the hose was substandard to begin with. Is there any way to avoid this? I'm a newbie here so please advise what I can do to prevent this from happening regularly. Thanks.

LGF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 07:56 PM   #2
Too Short? Cut it Again!

Rewards Points: 2,000

Sprinkler hose leaks

Where are you?

And how old is old? The pipe, possibly flex polyethelene, may have just lived out its life and you may have to bite the bullet and replace it. Do you have a piece of it with markings left? Or can you describe thickness and feel when you squeeze it? Wall thickness?

Does it freeze where you are? Was it buried deep enough to avoid the freeze? Do you blow your irrigation system free of water at the end of each season?

user1007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 08:26 AM   #3
LGF

Rewards Points: 10

Sprinkler hose leaks