Why Is My Hot Mud Setting So Fast? - Drywall & Plaster - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Drywall & Plaster

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-19-2016, 09:13 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 242

Why is my hot mud setting so fast?

So let me just start by saying that I've been using this same product (Sheetrock 90, I'm in Canada) for over 5 years at least a few times a year. I'm not a professional mudder by any means but I've used this stuff often enough to know how to use it and to know that it sets in approximately 60 minutes.

Today I started plastering my basement which I recently drywalled. I mixed a batch of this stuff which I just bought yesterday. I mixed it to the same consistency I usually do (peanut butter ish) and started mudding away. Suddenly I realized that this stuff was setting on my hawk. I figured the hour had just flown by and went to clean my tools and bucket. The stuff left in the bucket had also already began to set. I had to scrape it out as it came out in hardened chunks. Now again I realize this stuff sets quickly, but I've mudded with it before as I say and went at least to 80 minutes without that batch becoming as set as this batch.

Anyway I mixed another new batch after cleaning everything and set a timer. About 30 minutes in, the batch started setting just as bad as the first one. I'm at a complete loss here. I even checked the bag thinking maybe I somehow had grabbed some sheetrock 45 by accident, but no it is in fact sheetrock 90.

Short of the company putting the wrong powder in the bag I really don't know what's going on here. I'm wondering if I'm doing something wrong and not realizing it? What would cause 90 minute hot mud to set within 30 minutes? My basement is on the humid side (80 percent at the moment) but I've mudded down there before in another room with Sheetrock 90 without any issues.

Any thoughts?

Thanks!