Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Drywall & Plaster

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-23-2011, 09:07 PM   #1

Share |

Why apply texture to drywall?

I'm in the process of completely gutting my upstairs bathroom. I'm just a novice DIYer and having a great time doing this, learning a lot. I installed my first piece of drywall today and had no issues, finishing a wall.

I see a lot of information about "how to apply texture" but can't really find anything on WHY I should apply texture. I would prefer to keep my walls smooth, but I want to make sure there isn't a reason other than looks to apply texture to the walls.

So, why should I apply texture to my bathroom walls?

Also, the ceiling was popcorn-ed but I removed it, so it as well, is smooth right now.

acschnabel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 09:21 PM   #2
I can tie my own shoes

Nothing says you have to apply texture anywhere. It is all up to you. For a bathroom, I would think a smooth ceiling finish is a good idea. Easier to clean to remove moisture issues. I have seen textured walls in bathrooms done with sponges or similar. All done for aesthetics IMO. Perhaps others here have more insight as to why textures are applied.

algored2deth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 10:08 PM   #3
Old School

Location: St. Petersburg, FL Minds of moderate caliber ordinarily condemn everything which is beyond them.

I almost never texture bathrooms or kitchens. Almost always smooth finishes (Level 5) on those two rooms. A bit more work, but much easier to maintain.
Willie T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 07:35 AM   #4

Thanks Willie.. You've made me read about the levels of finishing drywall! Should have done that before going to bed instead of in the morning waking up. Wasn't planning on doing the skim coat on the entire surface, but will consider it now.
acschnabel is offline   Reply With Quote