Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Drywall & Plaster

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-04-2014, 10:23 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

texture questions

Howdy

I have two questions:
texture questions-wp_20140203_001.jpg

texture questions-wp_20140203_003.jpg

texture questions-wp_20140203_004.jpg
1. How do I get the texture in the attached photo? I realize I will not be able to replicate it perfectly but I'd like to get close. This texture is the texture I have for the entire upstairs except...

2. My closet wall (yes, walls) and all ceilings upstairs have popcorn. I scraped one ceiling and closet while paint was drying downstairs. It looks like unfinished drywall. Taking into consideration the texture on the existing walls, I'd like to make the ceilings look either similar to the walls or do a knockdown texture (which I have SOME experience in). That said, do I have to sand before doing any texture or can I just sand it smooth and paint it? Is there a step I'm missing?

Thank you

lendosky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2014, 11:38 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 34

texture questions

It's called egg shell or orange peel. There's a bunch of videos on You Tube on how it's done.
Prime before texturing.

lendosky (02-05-2014)
Old 02-04-2014, 11:58 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 6

texture questions

Joe is correct that it is indeed orange peel texture. Back in the 1920's it was done on horsehair plaster with a stippling brush. Hopefully you have the more modern version which is much easier to replicate. I never had much luck trying to duplicate the old stipple but came relatively close with a stippling brush and thinned joint compound.
Gymschu is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Gymschu For This Useful Post:
lendosky (02-05-2014)
Old 02-04-2014, 06:59 PM   #4

Rewards Points: 10

texture questions