Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Drywall & Plaster

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-09-2010, 10:17 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Taping Drywall

I'm about to finish drywalling my basement and going into taping it soon. I'd like to know the following:

1. Is there a tape/mud combo that I should use? I read somewhere that tape with adhesive should only be used on certain kinds of mud. What do most people use?

2. Is there a sequence in which one to tape first? Such as, vertical seams, horizontal seams, inside, then outside corners.

Any taping tips would be appreciated.

Thanks.

kupalino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 02:16 PM   #2

Taping Drywall

I am not a drywall professional by any means, but have done plenty of work with and without texture. I always use mesh adhesive tape, green mud for first coat, blue for second and third (maybe 4th and 5th if you are new to this. As far as taping I always work my way from the top down. I also fell in love with rounded plastic corners, they are so easy to do. . . .

TANC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 02:57 PM   #3
Remodeling Contractor

Taping Drywall

use paper tape for new drywall work. mesh is used for repairs.
Use durabond 90 compound for the first coat.
Use premixed for the next two coats. This is not good for first coat. the mix it yourself type is much stronger.
Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 08:04 PM   #4

Taping Drywall

Quote:
2. Is there a sequence in which one to tape first? Such as, vertical seams, horizontal seams, inside, then outside corners.

Thanks.
--------------------------------

2- not critical for a do it yourselfer . those concerns are adressed more for a professional thats trying to maximize profits.
oldrivers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 10:23 AM   #5

Taping Drywall

Thanks for the replies
kupalino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 04:00 PM   #6