Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Drywall & Plaster

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-26-2012, 07:57 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 252
Share |
Default

Is Tape Required on all patches ?


I'm not talking about sheet seams, corners, etc

If you make a 6' square patch for example, and the patch is tight.....can one just mud over the butt-lines ? Paper, etc I need to float out the square much more to make it blend.....whereas without the paper, I don't get the buildout.

mobiledynamics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 08:29 PM   #2
Member
 
firehawkmph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Near Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,580
Default

Is Tape Required on all patches ?


Without paper or mesh, it will more than likely crack along the patch over time. I use the ultra thin mesh and like it. Some guys like paper more. I just happen to like the mesh and am able to a good job with it.
Mike Hawkins

firehawkmph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 09:09 PM   #3
Haverhill Trade 1965
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 532
Default

Is Tape Required on all patches ?


All joints might crack without it. Better than tape go to the golden arches order something to go. Their bags make a great one piece patch tape because they are thin. cut it an inch or so larger than patch, dampen it, spread a thin layer of compound put piece on & smooth it in from center out. Paper is thin enough so compound on patch can be feathered out so it doesn't show.
Duckweather is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 09:28 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Is Tape Required on all patches ?


or you can do a california patch. You tube that and watch the first vid that comes up.
btyking is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to btyking For This Useful Post:
bbo (04-01-2012), oh'mike (04-03-2012)
Old 03-28-2012, 08:08 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: S.E. Minn
Posts: 35
Default

Is Tape Required on all patches ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by btyking View Post
or you can do a california patch. You tube that and watch the first vid that comes up.
I was going to say the same thing. No backing and no screws needed.
kj6887 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kj6887 For This Useful Post:
bbo (04-01-2012)
Old 03-28-2012, 11:00 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 491
Default

Is Tape Required on all patches ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by btyking View Post
Or you can do a california patch. You tube that and watch the first vid that comes up.

I've used this same method for some patches that were even larger when the patch spanned a stud or rafter.

It's just so much easier....
ktkelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 07:33 AM   #7
Next Time...New Build
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 192
Default

Is Tape Required on all patches ?


We call them a "Buffalo Patch." Must be a geographical thing.

They work great, especially when you cut out a junction box on the wrong end/side of the board.

Definitely never heard of using a McDonald's bag, that is a new one for sure.
RickyBobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 12:16 PM   #8
Drywall contractor
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 2,094
Default

Is Tape Required on all patches ?


Around here they're called "hot patches". Otherwise, YES, you need to tape....
__________________
If you can read this, thank a teacher. If you can read this in English, thank a soldier. Support our troops.
bjbatlanta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 02:05 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 491
Default

Is Tape Required on all patches ?


If you want to take it a step further...


Do just as the typical "California Patch" video shows. and then"

Cut the facing paper, around the hole you're patching, an equal amount that you've left for the overlap, and "butter" in the same way.


What that does is have the paper facing of your patch at the same level as the paper on the wall.


It's a little more work but it's easier to have a smooth and level patch...


Let's call this the "Kelly Patch"....
ktkelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 04:44 PM   #10
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Is Tape Required on all patches ?


....now if I could just watch the damn video so I knew what the heck you were all talking about.....

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 06:32 PM   #11
Drywall contractor
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 2,094
Default

Is Tape Required on all patches ?


Come on Mouse, first off you have to have more than Windows 95.....(lol)
__________________
If you can read this, thank a teacher. If you can read this in English, thank a soldier. Support our troops.
bjbatlanta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 07:21 PM   #12
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Is Tape Required on all patches ?


Still can't upgrade to win 95 yet. I can't afford it..... How is it?

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 07:57 PM   #13
bbo
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Packerland !!
Posts: 1,016
Default

Is Tape Required on all patches ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMouse View Post
Still can't upgrade to win 95 yet. I can't afford it..... How is it?

DM
c:> not bad , from what I heard, its got this "multi-tasking" thing you can do.
bbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 10:40 PM   #14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,968
Default

Is Tape Required on all patches ?


Levels 1-5 require tape: http://www.lafargenorthamerica.com/G...%20English.pdf

Gary

__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is tape necessary to repair holes in drywall (in garage)? Scotch99 Drywall & Plaster 4 08-22-2011 01:08 PM
Roof heat tape installation options daroepke Roofing/Siding 0 06-25-2010 12:36 PM
First time taping - Tape has air under it theedudenator Drywall & Plaster 16 04-21-2010 11:13 PM
Paint pull-up!?!? with BM Aura Bath & Spa, GE Silicone II, and PM Green tape DIYatHome Painting 8 12-12-2009 03:52 AM
Drywall Mudding - Tape Lifting Drywall_Dummy Building & Construction 5 09-06-2005 11:53 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.