Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Drywall & Plaster

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-05-2011, 09:35 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Start with walls or ceiling

Simple question for an expert, but of course I am a newbie and haven't drywalled before. I have a rectangular shaped room. Should I drywall the walls then the ceiling or does it matter?

oscarmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2011, 10:13 PM   #2
DIY staff

Rewards Points: 2,366

Ceiling first---then walls---faster and easier.

Set wall sheets horizontally for the best installation. Full sheets with taper to taper butt to butt.

Old 09-06-2011, 06:22 AM   #3

Thank you
Old 09-06-2011, 07:17 AM   #4

Rewards Points: 250

Personally, i would do the ceiling first. I would also run furring straps perpendicular to the rafters before I started.
1910NE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 07:35 PM   #5

Mike, on this thread a member referred to ferring straps. What are those? If I went to home depot, would they know what I was talking about?
Old 09-06-2011, 07:50 PM   #6
Too Short? Cut it Again!

Rewards Points: 2,000

Quote:
Originally Posted by oscarmw View Post
Mike, on this thread a member referred to ferring straps. What are those? If I went to home depot, would they know what I was talking about?
I hope Mike meant firring strips, not straps. Fur and furring straps are for the totally kinky and I do not go there.

They are just thin slices of lumber used to adjust camber differences along your joists or wall framing to give you as nice and even a surface as possible to hang drywall or whatever.