Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Drywall & Plaster

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-21-2011, 10:49 PM   #1
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 983
Share |
Default

room is 12'2" wide


i'm sheetrocking my basement and the room is 12'2" wide. Whats the best way to make up that 2"??? I already have 2 rows hung. So im left with a 4'2" gap. Should i flip my pattern around and waste half a sheet for every half sheet i put up?

jimmy21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 06:20 AM   #2
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,614
Default

room is 12'2" wide


Stop at the stud nearest the wall --16 " or 32"?? and add that ---why would you want to waste 1/2 of a sheet?

__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 08:32 AM   #3
Mold!! Let's kill it!
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,843
Default

room is 12'2" wide


Start by going out one or two cavities. The run full sheets. At the other end, you should end up with a piece 18" or 34" to the corner. Use the off-falls on the opposite 12'2" wall. Yeah, you're going to get some waste. A little extra drywall is cheap compared to messing with a 2" peice and having a tape joint right off of the corner.............. Unless you can get 14' sheets in there, in which case all this goes away.
Maintenance 6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 09:49 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 818
Default

room is 12'2" wide


I like to start in the center and work my way out. That would leave you with two 2'1" pieces on the sides. Then swapping the pattern for the next row would leave you with a 2'1" piece in the center, which would be weird. So maybe figure out a different way to split it on the center row.
mikegp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 10:44 AM   #5
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 983
Default

room is 12'2" wide


I forgot to mention I'm talking about the lid. The walls are already done. I'm basically done with it though. I put two rows taking up 4' each. Then flipped the last row around the other way and used 4'2" and wasted 3'10". Probably would have worked out better to flip the sheets around the opposite way, but there were already a few sheets up when I started.


Usually I do the lid before the walls. But the walls have been sheetrocked for a few years without being mudded and I'm just now getting around to finishing the space

Last edited by jimmy21; 11-22-2011 at 10:46 AM.
jimmy21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 08:05 PM   #6
retired union carpenter
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: PA
Posts: 323
Send a message via Yahoo to coupe
Default

room is 12'2" wide


you'll have the same amount of waste no matter how you hang it, I wouldn't flip the sheets! that butt against the tapered joint will show much more than the 2" piece. simply tape the 2" piece, run your corner as usual with 4" knife, will cover both tapes, second coat use 6" knife on ceiling, 4" on wall. if still that noticeable? run third coat on ceiling with 12"trowel badda-bing done! no problem

good luck
coupe
coupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 03:26 PM   #7
Drywall contractor
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 2,094
Default

room is 12'2" wide


Agree with coupe, use a 2" rip to fill the gap and keep the tapered edges.....
__________________
If you can read this, thank a teacher. If you can read this in English, thank a soldier. Support our troops.
bjbatlanta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 04:55 PM   #8
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 983
Default

room is 12'2" wide


Doesn't really matter now, its already textured and painted. But thanks
jimmy21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 07:07 PM   #9
Drywall contractor
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 2,094
Default

room is 12'2" wide


As long as it turned out and you're happy. The texture "hides" a lot too if the taper/non-taper edges didn't finish out as well as for a slick finish.
__________________
If you can read this, thank a teacher. If you can read this in English, thank a soldier. Support our troops.
bjbatlanta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 07:18 PM   #10
Framing Contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 1,094
Default

room is 12'2" wide


Your problem happened when you built the walls. We avoid rooms like 12' 1" or 12' 2" like the plague. Carpet also comes in 12' wide rolls ya know??
sixeightten is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sixeightten For This Useful Post:
Big Stud (12-07-2011)
Old 12-13-2011, 06:08 AM   #11
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,227
Default

room is 12'2" wide


So.....you did the walls before the ceiling?

I always thought you did the ceiling first....the walls help to support the edges of the ceiling......
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 01:23 PM   #12
Just a DIY guy
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Southern California
Posts: 297
Default

room is 12'2" wide


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
So.....you did the walls before the ceiling?

I always thought you did the ceiling first....the walls help to support the edges of the ceiling......
True, the ceiling should be done first. But he explained that the walls were done some time ago, and he was just finishing it off.
M3 Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to M3 Pete For This Useful Post:
jimmy21 (12-13-2011)
Old 12-13-2011, 01:42 PM   #13
retired union carpenter
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: PA
Posts: 323
Send a message via Yahoo to coupe
Default

room is 12'2" wide


yes, we always did the ceiling first for the reason you stated as well as having a bit of room to play with. but would split a sheet in order to prevent a 2"sliver in corner.

a always, just my thoughts good luck

coupe
coupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 11:18 PM   #14
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 983
Default

room is 12'2" wide


The walls were done a couple years ago. I pulled most of the walls off to finish insulating. Those spots, I put the lid up first, then trimmed the walls rock
jimmy21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2011, 06:27 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 130
Default

room is 12'2" wide


If you are really concerned you could buy a sheet or two of 54" (wide) board.

dberladyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Insulating a cold/well room? Lynch Building & Construction 23 07-25-2014 02:49 PM
Brainstorming ideas to Dress Up the front room of my new house!! the_d_mann1 Interior Decorating 0 05-01-2011 04:47 PM
First Question: How to cool this room? Warhammer: 3025 HVAC 4 03-25-2009 10:02 AM
Vents from boiler room RammsteinNicCage HVAC 3 03-11-2009 07:28 PM
A room in a room? artosie General DIY Discussions 2 03-10-2009 12:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.