Replacing Tape Joint On Stippled Ceiling - Drywall & Plaster - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Drywall & Plaster

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-31-2012, 08:38 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Question

Replacing tape joint on stippled ceiling

I need some expert input as to the best way to go about replacing a tape joint. The bad joint is along one wall/ceiling, about 10ft long, where the wall meets the stippled ceiling (inside joint) in a 45yr old bathroom that has been repainted 8 (or more) times. Some of the tape has come loose from the wall but most has come loose from the stippled ceiling.

I've done a little drywall taping in the past so I not a complete newbie at this but the stippled ceiling is throwing me a curve. I believe I can remove the old tape without much problem. My question is concerning prepping the surface properly so that the new tape will last another 45 years!

What I need to know is, how much (or how wide) of the stippling do I need to sand smooth in order to bed the new tape? I'm guessing a minimum of 4 inches?

There are several youtube videos on "how to replace bad tape joints" but they all deal with nice smooth walls and/or ceilings, none dealing with replacing tape on stippled surfaces.

This looks pretty much like the stippling on my ceiling:

http://www.all-wall.com/core/media/m...479cd0156e6d55

Thanks in advance for your input...

Advertisement

Rusty Skillz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 07:59 PM   #2
automated tool pro

Rewards Points: 150

you'll need this
http://www.all-wall.com/Categories/D...ple-Brush.html