Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Drywall & Plaster

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-10-2009, 06:40 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Massachusetts.
Posts: 308
Rewards Points: 256
Default

Replacing drywall, do I need to replace the insulation?


So since the walls are so poorly done I've decided to rip them down and do them over. While I have the walls down to studs should I replace the insulation? It looks okay, I think it says R-13 3.5" which I think is standard so I seem no reason to unless I'm missing something. What else should I do(if anything) now that I have access to the studs?

Also, any suggestions for a knee-wall? I want to drywall that and remove the board look.
Attached Thumbnails
Replacing drywall, do I need to replace the insulation?-img_0064.jpg  

RyanD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 08:27 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Replacing drywall, do I need to replace the insulation?


Insulation doesn't deteriorate! If moisture gets in there and it becomes moldy, it has to be replaced. Otherwise, its fine!
I think it would be a good idea to use a plastic vapor barrier to give it a better seal and to stop any outside air infiltration.
If you do so, the v/b on the insulation should be perforated!

Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 01:27 AM   #3
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 983
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Replacing drywall, do I need to replace the insulation?


Insulation should be fine but you are required to update the electrical
jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 07:22 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 3,118
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Replacing drywall, do I need to replace the insulation?


What jimmy said. Not sure if it is required, but I don't see an outlet on that wall. There should be at least one, depending on the width.
Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 09:46 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Massachusetts.
Posts: 308
Rewards Points: 256
Default

Replacing drywall, do I need to replace the insulation?


Even in the basement? Is this code?
RyanD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old ceiling replacement idsp General DIY Discussions 12 07-25-2009 11:48 AM
Replacing Drywall Corner Beads jodell8964 Building & Construction 2 03-15-2009 07:31 PM
basement insulation and vapour barrier coolnes Remodeling 11 02-01-2009 09:56 AM
Replacing drywall in shed with osb elcarlstono Building & Construction 1 12-27-2007 07:51 PM
Help!!! Blow-in insulation bowing drywall Erebus Remodeling 2 08-09-2007 08:20 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.