Replacing Corner Bead And Patching - Drywall & Plaster - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Drywall & Plaster

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-04-2013, 07:37 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Replacing corner bead and patching

New to this site and appreciate your help. From what I have read, cutting out and replacing this rusted corner bead seems like correct way to repair.
In photo, distance from window sill to top of mud opening is 4". Trust I should cut bead above 4" (or where there is no rust) and replace. After nailing new corner bead, I am concerned about adhesion of mud to drywall and bead. Am I on the right track with this repair? Appreciate your suggestions to aid in adhesion. I am a DIY novice in corner bead/mud techniques.
Attached Images

Advertisement

handinovice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 09:11 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,700

The way you have planned will work and adhesion shouldn't be a problem. If you can, use hot mud for your first coat. It seems like it would almost be as easy to remove that whole stick of corner bead and replace with vinyl. Never have to worry about it rusting again.

Advertisement

ToolSeeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 09:19 PM   #3
Renovating My Land Yacht

Rewards Points: 552

I would also address why its rusting. Was there a leak or something? I'd hate to see you replace it and then have to do it again later on.

Robyn
forcedreno2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 10:38 PM   #4

Rewards Points: 1,000

this window isn't over a bathtub or shower is it?
DannyT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 08:11 AM   #5

To: DannyT