Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Drywall & Plaster

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-15-2012, 07:04 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Is This Repairable?

Hello All! This is my first time posting in this forum. I was moving some large furniture around my apartment and hit the protruding part of my ceiling which happens to be a corner. It left a little bit of a gash but it seems repairable. Does anyone know how I would go about repairing it with plaster (process, tools, etc.)? It is not more than a foot wide. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks guys.

Jon
Attached Images

kingfoppa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 07:52 PM   #2
Retired from the grind

Rewards Points: 2,204

Is This Repairable?

Anything is repairable. Because that is Plaster with metal lathe, you are best to use what is commonly called "Hot" mud.

Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
kingfoppa (08-15-2012)
Old 08-15-2012, 08:08 PM   #3

Is This Repairable?

Thanks for the help. Are you sure that it is metal? My friend said that it is concrete. Can I get hot mud at any hardware store?
Old 08-15-2012, 08:16 PM   #4
Retired from the grind

Is This Repairable?

Nope, Plaster & metal lathe. The first coat of plaster in old buildings looks like mortar or some call it concrete, such as your friend. Which it is far from it.

If this is a small fix, you can get pre-mix that has the same chemical make up as hot mud but will not be as strong. I use Vinyl Spackle when doing repairs in my house which has what is called "Rock-Lathe".