Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Drywall & Plaster

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-24-2012, 10:08 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,758
Rewards Points: 4
Share |
Default

Possible to fix wrong size electrical box cuts? See Pics


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
You zip around the inside, then clean up by going just around the outside edge if need be.
i will try that, someday. i am done with drywall for a while.

Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 10:09 AM   #17
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,040
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Possible to fix wrong size electrical box cuts? See Pics


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
You zip around the inside, then clean up by going just around the outside edge if need be.
When I use a roto-zip. I plunge into the center of the box, move to a side, pull back and go outside the box. Then zip around the outside.


I used the Blindmark tool while hanging rock. With the Blindmark tool, you insert the magnet in the box (it has a nub that fits into the screw hole at the top and the bottom). you then tack up the rock, and use the other magnet to find the outlet boxes. Trace around the magnet, then use a rorozip tool to cut the line out. The secret to this is that the outside magnet (the finder) is about as big as the box itself. If you follow the line you made, your rotozip tool will be cutting around the outside of the box. As an added measure of safety, the magnet you install inside the box covers all of the wires as well.

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 11:05 AM   #18
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,093
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Possible to fix wrong size electrical box cuts? See Pics


That box in the first pic is an "old work" box. The tabs at top and bottom go outside the rock.
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 12:58 PM   #19
retired union carpenter
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: PA
Posts: 323
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to coupe
Default

Possible to fix wrong size electrical box cuts? See Pics


Originally Posted by gregzoll
You zip around the inside, then clean up by going just around the outside edge if need be.

the trick is, learning when you need to run the rotozip clockwise or counterclockwise
__________________
as always, just my thoughts
good luck....coupe/Larry
take what helps? ignore the rest.
coupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 03:00 PM   #20
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,158
Rewards Points: 72
Default

Possible to fix wrong size electrical box cuts? See Pics


Quote:
Originally Posted by coupe
Originally Posted by gregzoll
You zip around the inside, then clean up by going just around the outside edge if need be.

the trick is, learning when you need to run the rotozip clockwise or counterclockwise
Actually the trick is knowing how to use the tool, or tools at hand, to make the proper cuts.

Before rotozips, it would be measure twice, cut once, or use the pait trick.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 12:16 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 63
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Possible to fix wrong size electrical box cuts? See Pics


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll

Actually the trick is knowing how to use the tool, or tools at hand, to make the proper cuts.

Before rotozips, it would be measure twice, cut once, or use the pait trick.

Ill second that. I have only done drywall a few times. I heard lipstick, not paint. I put it on the box, but it didn't come out great (I kept getting double lines for some reason).

I also did a marker (a long nail in a piece of wood pressure fit into box). I knew where center was, I tried to roto zip with a friends tool..... Holy crap! That thing was so fast, buzzing and bouncing on the inside. I scratched the crap out of the plastic box, and then nicked the wall when taking the tool out. I was terrible! Lol

I now use similar to that box, but I have one that goes into the box and has 6 small pegs (about 1-4" long, looks like thumbtac pins).

When you line up the drywall, you slap it and the pins stick into the drywall and the whole thing sticks on the sheet.

I then lay it face down and cut it with my drywall saw. Works great each time.

I think this is a picture of one (can't see the pins on the front due to angle):

Http://img.diynetwork.com/DIY/2005/0...312_4fa_lg.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using DIY Forum
jdm001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 08:43 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,758
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Possible to fix wrong size electrical box cuts? See Pics


the metal boxs are easy to zip. the plastic ones, if your not carefull, you will burn the plastic.
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 10:29 AM   #23
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,040
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Possible to fix wrong size electrical box cuts? See Pics


Quote:
Originally Posted by jdm001 View Post


I think this is a picture of one (can't see the pins on the front due to angle):

Http://img.diynetwork.com/DIY/2005/0...312_4fa_lg.jpg
The picture you posted looks more like the Blindmark tool with the magnets.



Like this




























df
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 11:49 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 63
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Possible to fix wrong size electrical box cuts? See Pics


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles
The picture you posted looks more like the Blindmark tool with the magnets.

Like this

df
Ah you're right. This is the exact one I got "Handymark" on amazon.

www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B000V5MPZM

Mixed reviews, but sounds like reviewers weren't lining up before using.

My first use I realized if I moved it into place or even swung it in, it might be a little off. I had great luck doing this:

First I lined up the top or bottom and put the edge in place while the bottom/top closest to the marker box hovering about an inch from the wall. I the even out the whole sheet 1" off wall and then bring back to wall so it's flat (perpendicular not swung in) and the box marks and usually sticks in too.

Easy to find, and then connect the dots to cut.

Sent from my iPhone using DIY Forum
jdm001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 12:25 PM   #25
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,040
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Possible to fix wrong size electrical box cuts? See Pics


Actually I don't use that Blindmark tool any more. What I do is put a mark on the floor directly below the box and write next to it the measurement up to the center of the box. Hang the drywall sheet from the top and leave it loose at the bottom. The box prevents it from going back to the studs. Measure up from the mark on the floor the distance I wrote. Plunge with the roto-zip and cut the box. Push the drywall back to studs and screw off.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 06:57 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 515
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Possible to fix wrong size electrical box cuts? See Pics


I can't tell you how many times I've had wire cut from someone using a Roto-Zip to trim around the inside of a box.


Sure, the wires should be set back deep in the box, but sometimes they're not. How do you know? They are covered by the rock....


Cutting inside the box is a BAD practice.


Shallow the bit in the Roto-Zip, cut around the outside of the box and you'll never do any damage.
ktkelly is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ktkelly For This Useful Post:
mae-ling (12-26-2012), ToolSeeker (12-25-2012)
Old 12-25-2012, 09:52 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: anoka county mn
Posts: 314
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Possible to fix wrong size electrical box cuts? See Pics


in newer remodeliing they have these new boxes that have 1 inch flanges all around them that you tape the vapor barrier to and you have to cut all around the flange so you dont disturb the vaper barrier seal , if you dont cut around the flanges the sheetrock gets bulged from the flanges so you have to cut around the flanges which leaves a 1 inch gap all around the box that needs to be filled with durabond and taped . no big deal .
oldrivers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 09:29 AM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: missouri
Posts: 213
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Possible to fix wrong size electrical box cuts? See Pics


http://www.homedepot.com/p/t/2023434...8#.UNsXbHmSWwk

I have used these,and i think they work great.

scottktmrider is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to scottktmrider For This Useful Post:
rjniles (12-26-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need to know if my grounds and neutrals are connected right dorlow Electrical 185 01-15-2012 02:54 PM
wrong size furnace installed - wdstkchik HVAC 6 01-06-2012 12:23 PM
Fixing multiple attic electrical issues before blowing in insulation darlingm Electrical 11 11-19-2011 09:19 AM
What am I Doing Wrong Here (Roller Marks, pics) dimswits Painting 12 01-14-2011 08:50 AM
Anything wrong with putting an electrical box in a kitchen cupboard beech Electrical 8 10-05-2009 05:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.