Possible To Fix Wrong Size Electrical Box Cuts? See Pics - Drywall & Plaster - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Drywall & Plaster

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-22-2012, 05:18 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 63
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Possible to fix wrong size electrical box cuts? See Pics


Helping a friend that already started, and found that there were some issues with the already complete drywall.

There's a couple sheets of drywall I already fixed; but these two boxes were the worst. All the boxes were flush, so I fixed with box extensions. These two attached were way oversized cuts.

I'm not experienced enough with drywall... Is this sheet shot? It's not mud and taped yet, but it's very hard to get more new drywall in without a rented machine.

Can you fill it with *many* layers of mud or plaster (laid on thin so it won't crack). Or is it a lost cause?

Any tips appreciated!

Sent from my iPhone using DIY Forum
Attached Thumbnails
Possible to fix wrong size electrical box cuts? See Pics-image-1549570531.jpg   Possible to fix wrong size electrical box cuts? See Pics-image-804892239.jpg  

Advertisement

jdm001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 05:38 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: B.C. Canada
Posts: 2,055
Rewards Points: 1,030
Default

Possible to fix wrong size electrical box cuts? See Pics


depending on how large the gap is you can just mud and tape it

Advertisement

mae-ling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 05:39 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,815
Rewards Points: 746
Default

Possible to fix wrong size electrical box cuts? See Pics


Horrable job of cuttig out, but not worth trying to fix. Just use bigger covers.
They come in three differant sizes. Big, bigger and oh my god what have you done.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
Gymschu (12-24-2012), princelake (12-25-2012)
Old 12-22-2012, 05:50 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 63
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Possible to fix wrong size electrical box cuts? See Pics


Yeah I planned on using an oversized box, but it wasn't big enough lol. I was thinking possibly some decorative design under the wall plate, ive seen it before somewhere.

Where can I find the OMG what have you done wall plate lol

Sent from my iPhone using DIY Forum
jdm001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 05:53 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,815
Rewards Points: 746
Default

Possible to fix wrong size electrical box cuts? See Pics


Lowes, HD should have them.
They will be 3/8" larger then a standard cover.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 06:25 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Southeast Wisconsin
Posts: 80
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Possible to fix wrong size electrical box cuts? See Pics


Easy repair, use "lightweight spackle" to fill it. You can put it on thick and it dries much quicker and is far less likely to crack.
wrongdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 10:41 AM   #7
Member
 
PoleCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,554
Rewards Points: 790
Default

Possible to fix wrong size electrical box cuts? See Pics


I always used self adhesive mesh tape and mud around bad cuts with good results but that remodel box needs pristine wall board cut just right in order to remain solid in the wall.
PoleCat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 11:18 AM   #8
Member
 
funfool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 706
Rewards Points: 508
Default

Possible to fix wrong size electrical box cuts? See Pics


use hot mud, will be called ez-sand and comes in 20, 45, 90, min.
Just add water and mix it to a creamy workable mixture, and pack around the box.
Do not get it inside the box and on the electrical connections.
In 1 - 2 hours will be able to apply a second coat.
Try to make first coat smooth or a little shallow, second coat smooth and flat... despite it's name, you can sand it smooth but not the easiest stuff to sand. So do not leave a lot of sanding.

Hot mud has a lot of body and strength to it, not as much as plaster, more then regular mud, and will work fine in this situation. Have used this method for years and never a problem with it.

Pictures can be deceiving, If they are over 3/4", then will need to tape and mud.
Which is fine, just means will need 3 coats of mud, need to feather it out in a larger area to disappear the patch.
I would not even consider replacing the drywall for this issue.
__________________
If it was easy, we would not call it work!
funfool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 07:28 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 63
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Possible to fix wrong size electrical box cuts? See Pics


Thanks for all the help everyone. I used the quick set mud with a brace... I cut out a "c" shape on the really bad one, and an I shape on the other.

Braced it with a piece of plywood, and then mudded (nothing over 1/4" so didn't need mesh or tape either).

Pictures of work in progress attached.

Sent from my iPhone using DIY Forum
Attached Thumbnails
Possible to fix wrong size electrical box cuts? See Pics-image-1477020642.jpg   Possible to fix wrong size electrical box cuts? See Pics-image-1682536630.jpg   Possible to fix wrong size electrical box cuts? See Pics-image-1381313420.jpg   Possible to fix wrong size electrical box cuts? See Pics-image-1968762884.jpg   Possible to fix wrong size electrical box cuts? See Pics-image-3543854158.jpg  

jdm001 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jdm001 For This Useful Post:
mae-ling (12-23-2012)
Old 12-23-2012, 07:53 PM   #10
Member
 
funfool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 706
Rewards Points: 508
Default

Possible to fix wrong size electrical box cuts? See Pics


I feel bad hear ... I just suggested you mix hot mud and fill in as was.
You cut out and made patches, is now bigger then original issue ... now you need tape.

Left as is in original photo, just needed to pack it with hot mud.
Since you changed it from original photos, now you need tape.
I would not run mud over those joints without tape ... they will fail and crack out.
I hope I did not confuse you in some way ... we now see in first photo's pack it with mud.
In second photos where you fixed it till was broke ... you need to add tape and 3 coats mud and blend it in ... or it will crack on the joints.
__________________
If it was easy, we would not call it work!
funfool is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to funfool For This Useful Post:
mae-ling (12-23-2012)
Old 12-23-2012, 10:42 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 63
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Possible to fix wrong size electrical box cuts? See Pics


Quote:
Originally Posted by funfool
I feel bad hear ... I just suggested you mix hot mud and fill in as was.
You cut out and made patches, is now bigger then original issue ... now you need tape.

Left as is in original photo, just needed to pack it with hot mud.
Since you changed it from original photos, now you need tape.
I would not run mud over those joints without tape ... they will fail and crack out.
I hope I did not confuse you in some way ... we now see in first photo's pack it with mud.
In second photos where you fixed it till was broke ... you need to add tape and 3 coats mud and blend it in ... or it will crack on the joints.
Ah I wrote that wrong, I did use the mesh, I didn't use tape. But, it was similar to a butt joint, a small 1/4" gap at most.

I put the mesh on when I was doing the mud, so it's covered in the last pictures.

The last pictures are a thin first coat. I did have a bit of a lip so that's why one was feathered out so far. Ill level it out on 2nd coat and then do a light sand and a final coat and sand. I think it'll end up okay.

Sent from my iPhone using DIY Forum
jdm001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 08:52 AM   #12
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,431
Rewards Points: 2,524
Default

Possible to fix wrong size electrical box cuts? See Pics


Next time you do drywall, use the paint trick to mark where the boxes are on the wall, when you do a test lay of the board. You paint the edge of the box, lay the board against, tap to allow the marking, pull back away, cut the hole, and perfect every time.

Also, just knowing where the box is, rotozip around the box inside where it sits, perfect every time. It is just taking the time, and you will get it right every time.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 09:43 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 4,132
Rewards Points: 2,736
Default

Possible to fix wrong size electrical box cuts? See Pics


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post

Also, just knowing where the box is, rotozip around the box inside where it sits, perfect every time.
really ? i have been zip'n the outside of the boxs.
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 09:45 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: outside ocala fl
Posts: 3,832
Rewards Points: 2,700
Default

Possible to fix wrong size electrical box cuts? See Pics


If this ever happens again they make a "patch" for lack of a better word that is for this very thing. It is cut out for the plug or switch sticks on the wall, skim coat and done. No tape no butts, just skim and sand. I am not sure but I think you can get them at allwall,com or at the local drywall supplier, I don't know who makes them.
ToolSeeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 10:51 AM   #15
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,431
Rewards Points: 2,524
Default

Possible to fix wrong size electrical box cuts? See Pics


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fix'n it

really ? i have been zip'n the outside of the boxs.
You zip around the inside, then clean up by going just around the outside edge if need be.

Advertisement

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need to know if my grounds and neutrals are connected right dorlow Electrical 185 01-15-2012 03:54 PM
wrong size furnace installed - wdstkchik HVAC 6 01-06-2012 01:23 PM
Fixing multiple attic electrical issues before blowing in insulation darlingm Electrical 11 11-19-2011 10:19 AM
What am I Doing Wrong Here (Roller Marks, pics) dimswits Painting 12 01-14-2011 09:50 AM
Anything wrong with putting an electrical box in a kitchen cupboard beech Electrical 8 10-05-2009 06:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts