Peel Stop Then Roman Rx-35? - Drywall & Plaster - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Drywall & Plaster

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-22-2014, 11:53 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 16
Question

Peel Stop then Roman Rx-35?

Hi all, I'm a total rookie at this stuff so I'm hoping that someone can tell me if my plan of attack is good enough, or if I'm gonna make a mistake with something. Here's my plan:

I need to skim coat the ceiling and walls in my kitchen. Plaster walls that I just removed wallpaper from and a plaster ceiling with badly peeling paint on it. My plan is to try to wash off whatever wallpaper adhesive I can off the walls and scrape off as much of the peeling paint that I can from the ceiling. Then I was going to do a coat of Zinsser Peel Stop on the ceiling, wait a day for it to dry, then do a coat of the Roman Rx-35 over the Peel Stop on the ceiling, and on the walls. Then I was gonna do 2 skim coats of Durabond 90, then a final skim coat of all purpose joint compound. Then a coat of Benjamin Moore 253 primer, then whatever color my wife finally decides on.

Anyone notice any glaring mistakes (aside from thinking my wife is EVER gonna make a decision)? Thanks in advance.

BTW I was gonna use Gardz instead of the Rx-35 but I couldn't find it anywhere.

Also BTW, I put this post under the plaster section instead of the paint section because I'm more concerned about how the skim coat holds up with this plan of attack.

Advertisement

Last edited by DaFish; 03-22-2014 at 11:57 PM. Reason: clarification
DaFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 05:08 AM   #2
paper hanger and painter

Rewards Points: 2,234

Forget the rx-35, if you cannot get Gardz, use Zinsser's Cover Stain

Advertisement

chrisn is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to chrisn For This Useful Post:
DaFish (03-23-2014)
Old 03-23-2014, 07:40 AM   #3