Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Drywall & Plaster

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-08-2013, 02:55 PM   #1

Share |

Options for walls in garage - flipping home

I had to pull the OSB sheets covering the walls in my garage (SEVERE mouse damage to the insulation), and am now left with open walls and nails sticking through from the siding. I also was wondering what to do with the roof.... I figure adding some storage space up there (wood sheets) might add value... but I've never done this house flippage thing before.

I don't want to spend a bunch of money, and I plan to do the work myself.
I was thinking about just throwing some insulation back in there and sheetrocking it, but wanted to know if maybe there was a cheaper or easier way to make the walls look decent again. I am also concerned there appears to be no vapor barrier, nor remnants of one.

Would appreciate any thoughts.

Thanks,

Last edited by white25rs; 08-13-2013 at 05:50 PM. Reason: moar pics
white25rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 03:08 PM   #2
Too Short? Cut it Again!

I would be tempted to say leave it to the buyer but it is clear you have no wrap or anything under the exterior planking. So, add insulation and drywall would be my suggestion and about the cheapest. OSB will work if you find it cheaper. Take a pic or two to show what you did. I am assuming this monster of a garage is separate and not attached to the house and drawing on its HVAC right?

But, with an open cathedral/ceiling like roof like that? All the wall insulation in the world will not help much I fear. Heat must sail right up to the top. It is nice looking but an energy and heat exhausting nightmare. If you want the look, I think you need to at least roll insulate insulate it to show you tried? Or finish the ceiling and loose the look. A shame but more energy efficient.