Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Drywall & Plaster

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-13-2013, 02:43 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

No studs where they should be


Hi everyone,

I'm new here and have a question about studs behind drywall. I'm mounting a large TV and have successfully done it at 2 other places. But, my new home is driving me crazy.

I use a magnet to find nails, then verify the stud by tapping the wall. I have found 1 stud with no issue.

The problem is finding the second stud. I find more nails 16" away horizontally from the first stud. At those new nails, I find more nails along the vertical line, and there is an outlet on that line. But, once I drill, there is nothing there. I've tried drilling other holes a few 16ths to the side of the purported "stud" as well as a few inches down, but nothing. It's completely mysterious.

For more background, this is an interior wall. The room behind it is a bathroom. I thought about the possibility that the "nails" are actually piping, but the nails are spaced at discrete intervals about 20" apart vertically (i.e. we don't have one continuous magnetic line).

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

gilgee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 04:32 PM   #2
Member
 
Davejss's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Northern Massachusetts
Posts: 335
Default

No studs where they should be


I usually start by trying to find a nail in the base molding. Then I'll confirm by driving a 4d finish nail through the wall just near the base. Then I'll plumb up with a level and make another test with the nail. If my test nail doesn't hit a stud I'll try a half inch or so either way. If still nothing then it's toggle time.

Davejss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 06:38 PM   #3
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,452
Default

No studs where they should be


Do be careful drilling into a plumbing wall---------

You may want to borrow or buy a stud finder----
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 07:17 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,021
Default

No studs where they should be


Depending on how they framed the wall, it could be 16" o/c from doorways and hallway openings, or where the inside corners meet, vs. 16" o/c from outside to the inside. Now of course, some builders like to go 24" o/c with their framing, and frame like a bunch of drunk sailors, by starting at both ends, then meeting in the middle, with some odd measurement.

You need to use a good Zircon stud finder, not a magnet to find the studs.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 07:21 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,246
Default

No studs where they should be


When I'm mounting a flat screen I open up the wall.
#1 Makes it easy to run the wiring so it's behind the wall and I can install a recessed outlet and cable box.
#2 I can then let in a backer like a 2 X 6 to mount the TV anyplace so it's centered.
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 07:56 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2
Default

No studs where they should be


Thanks for the replies. I should clarify that I used a magnetic CH Hanson stud finder that's never failed me before. But, I'll give the Zircon one a try.

Now thinking about it, is there any chance that the drywall would be extra thick for any kind of reason? I'm drilling in 1.5", but that seems to be the only other explanation. All of the evidence shows that there should be a stud there. It's almost like there's a ghost beam there.

I'd hate to open the wall, but might try that as a last resort. Thanks for the ideas.
gilgee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 08:30 PM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,021
Default

No studs where they should be


It would be, if some idiot did it for sound deadening reasons, by using two layers of 5/8" and Green glue in between, with clips that hold the first layer off of the studs.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 08:37 PM   #8
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,021
Default

No studs where they should be


Drill a hole where the flatscreen will go, and use one of these http://www.harborfreight.com/digital...era-67979.html There are also these that start at $20 http://www.amazon.com/Waterproof-End...pection+camera that you connect to a computer.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?

Last edited by gregzoll; 10-13-2013 at 08:40 PM.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 07:20 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: outside ocala fl
Posts: 3,362
Default

No studs where they should be


Drill a small hole where the mount will hide it then run a fairly stiff wire in the hole till it hits then measure the wire. Take a very small finish nail put it in the wall see if it hits solid.
ToolSeeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 09:48 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 91
Default

No studs where they should be


I stuck a drill bit in my drywall and marked my studs when I hit them. It gets covered up by the TV. I have all the wires ran in the wall and the surround sound ran in the attic. My cousin is working on his unfinished Attic and can vouch for crappy framing. We measured one wall at 16" 24" 18" and so on. To make it worse the studs are out of line making drywall installation a pain. I guess that's normal though in cookie cutter homes.
big juicy01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 11:10 PM   #11
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,021
Default

No studs where they should be


Quote:
Originally Posted by big juicy01 View Post
I stuck a drill bit in my drywall and marked my studs when I hit them. It gets covered up by the TV. I have all the wires ran in the wall and the surround sound ran in the attic. My cousin is working on his unfinished Attic and can vouch for crappy framing. We measured one wall at 16" 24" 18" and so on. To make it worse the studs are out of line making drywall installation a pain. I guess that's normal though in cookie cutter homes.
No, that is not normal with Cookie Cutter homes. That is what happens when someone forgets what a tape measure is, and the person building the structure, should have stayed at the fry station, at the McDonald's they were at, before they picked up that hammer.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 07:23 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 91
Default

No studs where they should be


I call it the Willy wonka house.lol

big juicy01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wood or Steel wall studs? dredogol Building & Construction 2 07-10-2011 07:31 AM
Making wall studs plumb and on plane laxgrandma Carpentry 1 07-06-2011 05:32 PM
Attaching a worksurface directly to studs in of a basement wall BasementVirgin Building & Construction 3 10-06-2010 12:04 PM
New foundation for bathroom floor and exterior wall studs JayG Building & Construction 2 07-11-2010 01:25 PM
using 8' studs vs 7'-9" studs RINAIL Carpentry 2 07-10-2008 04:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.