Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Drywall & Plaster

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-13-2011, 06:16 PM   #1

Share |
Question

Next phase- drywall!

Hi fellow frustrated members-

so most of you probably don't know this but i have been making threads as we progress through our never ending remodel, and we are finally at the drywall phase!

now my question is given the crazy ceiling we have, is 1/2in normal drywall sufficient? also, do you need to install furring strips or can you just screw directly to the joists? i have never done drywall before so i am trying to read up on it. any other advice is welcomed. thanks!

federer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 06:18 PM   #2

Next phase- drywall!

the joists run straight then angles down

Old 12-13-2011, 06:46 PM   #3
Disabled wood vet

Next phase- drywall!

Must ceilings are 5/8" (fire code).

Sent from a Samsung Galaxy S2
titanoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 06:51 PM   #4

Next phase- drywall!

5/8 is used so the ceiling will not sag. Make sure to use screws not nails.
That's one messed up ceiling right now. I'd pull a string across it in a few place to see how flat those rafters are.
I'd borrow or rent a drywall lift, so much easer to do a ceiling that way. With a lift, one man can install a 4 X 12 sheet by there self and have far less seams.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 07:02 PM   #5

Next phase- drywall!

thanks for the reply guys!
so i need 5/8th not 1/2in. also, i have never done this before. can i just screw the sheets up myself, and have someone else finish it? finishing just means taping the seams and mudding right?
Old 12-13-2011, 07:07 PM   #6

Next phase- drywall!

also, should adhesive be used in addition to screws?
Old 12-13-2011, 07:10 PM   #7

Next phase- drywall!

Simple enought to hang and finish, it just takes a little practice to get good at it.