Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Drywall & Plaster

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-02-2011, 03:17 PM   #1

Share |

My mesh is showing...

Hi... I'm sure I'm doing something stupid here, as it's my first time and I'm not the handiest guy on the planet (or in my house, actually). I removed a 4 foot x 4 foot section of drywall in a bathroom, and am trying to get the replacement to fit as precisely as possible.

I've secured the new board using 2 inch drywall screws, placed every 6 inches down the studs. The right side butts against a corner, and the left ends at the mid point of another stud. I noticed a very small (less than 1/8th inch) difference in the depth of the new board and the old wall on one the left side. I first used paper tape and joint compound, but wasn't happy with it, so removed and sanded everything back down.

Second round, used mesh tape instead, have mudded, feathered, sanded, mudded, feathered sanded, etc. The problem is, there are several spots where the mesh tape is still visible. I've gone over it 4-5 times with fresh coats of mud, but every time I sand, out comes the mesh again. Seems like I can't get it smooth without over sanding (?).

Any suggestions? Should I paper tape OVER the mesh in those spots?

Thanks for your time, and sorry for such a verbose post.

Last edited by JP6044; 02-02-2011 at 04:35 PM. Reason: corrected mistake
JP6044 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 03:03 PM   #2
Super Master Painter

My mesh is showing...

Quote:
Originally Posted by JP6044 View Post
Seems like I can't get it smooth without over sanding (?).