Mud Inside Corners - Drywall & Plaster - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Drywall & Plaster

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-31-2010, 08:23 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 75

Mud inside corners

Im having a hard time with mud for inside corners. This isnt my first job, im far from a pro, but i can manage. I only do one side at a time of course, but when i come back the next day to do the second side, i always end up with dry flakes in the corner. Heres the steps im currently doing;

1. scrap all edges to make sure i dont have chuncks and high spots
2. apply mud to the corner
3. feather off extra mud from the far edge,away from corner, using light pressure
4. this is when i make my finishing pass, puting pressure on the outside corner of the knife.

about a foot into the pass the corner starts to get some dry flakes with the mud, making the corner itself look like crap.

Has anyone had this problem before? any tips? (before i end up making holes in the drywall )

Advertisement

simonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 08:30 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 10

Mud inside corners

maybe play around with the viscosity of the mud, perhaps its too dry. If its thin it may be a bit messy but it won't flake and you can always sand off the imperfections.

Advertisement

Charlie.Liu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 08:39 PM   #3

Mud inside corners

Well the mud is new, after half a coat i gave it a small mixing and added just a lil water. It did look better and more primissing, but same results.
simonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 04:56 PM   #4

Rewards Points: 42

Mud inside corners

Some good closeup pictures might help.
Jim F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 03:23 PM   #5

Mud inside corners

are we talking about the second coat? or first?
bkeech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 02:26 AM   #6

Rewards Points: 254