Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Drywall & Plaster

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-07-2009, 11:41 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Question

Mixing Drywall Mud

I do alot of eveything for the company i work for, we general contract jobs and do everything from exterior work too flooring too drywall mud and tape, cabinets, but im having trouble lately with air pockets in my mud. Im not sure if its how im mixing it or what tricks are too stop this??

justinwillsie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 08:28 AM   #2

Mixing Drywall Mud

I'm no pro drywaller, but I think it is pretty normal to have some voids due to small air bubbles in the first coat of mud. When it dries the second coat fills any such voids.

The only thing I'd do is try not to whip air into the mud by mixing it at high speed. When using a drill to mix it just do it at very low RPM.

When I mud anything I use a hawk and I pull my mud right from the box and mix it on the hawk with my taping knife. Sounds disgusting but I always spit in it to thin it out very very slightly.

Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 08:47 AM   #3
Lic. Builder/GC/Remodeler

Mixing Drywall Mud

Mix in a little liquid dish soap. Seriously.
AtlanticWBConst. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 08:51 AM   #4

Mixing Drywall Mud

Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlanticWBConst. View Post
Mix in a little liquid dish soap. Seriously.
Second that. The soap should break the surface tension of the compound cutting down on the bubbles.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 10:07 AM   #5

Mixing Drywall Mud

That's a pretty cool idea. How much dish soap per box of mud? Like a tablespoon?
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 10:27 AM   #6

Mixing Drywall Mud