Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Drywall & Plaster

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-10-2012, 06:59 PM   #1

Share |

Ideas to Prevent Re-Hiding Junction Box

009 by didyapageme, on Flickr

Hello, I had an electrician out today. We were trying to diagnose where the junction (if any) was for an outlet which has died. When checking the wiring on the lamp above my sink, he noticed the corner of a junction box. So we took off the tile covering it.

I would like to avoid re-hiding it (maintain some form of access). I'm looking for ideas on how to cover the hole. I'm a beginner DIYer.

IF the answer is to just cover it back up... should I remove some more tiles so I can patch the section of the drywall... to have something to attach the tile to?

Thanks for your ideas!

hovenj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 07:15 PM   #2

blank covers. you can find them in a variety of colors, or paint them something that matches closer to your tile. personally i think a stainless steel one would look the best, and match your faucet. it's all preference though.

i believe it's very frowned upon to have j-boxes that you can't access. that close to the sink, you might need some sort of waterproofing as well.

sevenlol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 07:18 PM   #3

Anyone see anything wrong with this picture?
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 07:58 PM   #4
Too Old

I've never seen so many electrical boxes so close to a sink before.
Old 05-12-2012, 03:42 PM   #5

Thank you for the idea about the blank plate cover. I'll definitely cut an opening for that in the tile / drywall patch. Is it ok that the box is tile-depth behind behind? I suppose it doesn't matter as long as the gang plate screws are long enough.