Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Drywall & Plaster

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-06-2010, 06:33 PM   #1
Household Handyman

Rewards Points: 1,012

I promise, ,

never to accept a job to drywall a 42" x 96" utility room with wall height on one end of 96" and 84" on the other end. A sloped ceiling at that. Think about this. It's impossible to get a full sheet of rock into that space. Cut the boards in half just to get them in there, and one more joint per board to mud and tape. I'm not a professional drywaller ( go look at my mess and you will believe). My old soft heart took on this job for an elderly lady customer of mine, you know the type--I just cannot say NO. You can bet your sweet bippy I will from now on. David

Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 06:53 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,000

I promise, ,

Yeah, I redid 2 closets
I was thinking I could just put one 4x8 piece on the back & a 1/2 sheet on the side
Nope....couldn't get them in the doors of course

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 05:53 AM   #3
Handyman

Rewards Points: 500

I promise, ,

You might not neccessarily have to 'cut' the drywall to fit it into tight spaces (or to go through tight corners like stairwells) You can score the back of the drywall and fold it, then unfold when you are in...no taping.
canadaclub is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to canadaclub For This Useful Post:
cellophane (05-07-2010)
Old 05-07-2010, 08:38 AM   #4
Drywall contractor

Rewards Points: 1,000

I promise, ,

I've done that many times. Sometimes all it takes is cutting a corner and folding it back if the piece is only slightly larger than the door....
Old 05-07-2010, 06:11 PM   #5
Household Handyman

I promise, ,