Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Drywall & Plaster

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-15-2010, 10:08 PM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 206
Share |
Default

How should I proceed? (Pics inside)


I will keep them in the basement for now until I fix everything else first. Actually it's beneath the floor next to the floor joists where it can be accessed from the basement. The wire nuts were a little small but I screwed it on with a little bit of force and it tightened. Is that ok?

llckll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 10:10 PM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

How should I proceed? (Pics inside)


Yes, as long as they won't come loose

Some people do put electric tape on them if the wire caps seem loose at all
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 10:12 PM   #33
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 206
Default

How should I proceed? (Pics inside)


I am going to Home Depot tomorrow so I'll pick up some black electrical tape and tape it up for extra measure.

Thank you.
llckll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 10:42 PM   #34
Member
 
willowgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 104
Default

How should I proceed? (Pics inside)


Quote:
Originally Posted by llckll View Post
Unfortunately that breaker controls other outlets.
If it controls other outlets wouldn't that mean there would be a junction box that the wire would be hooked in? If I'm right in thinking that, couldn't you turn off the breaker remove that one wire, close the box back up and turn the breaker back on?
Or if it comes off another plug disconnect from there? I could be wrong but if its a possibility, I think it would be better than taking the chance of something happing with it. Lately it seems whenever your watching show's on things done wrong you see a lot of wiring just left in the wall.
willowgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 10:44 PM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

How should I proceed? (Pics inside)


Quote:
Originally Posted by willowgirl View Post
If it controls other outlets wouldn't that mean there would be a junction box that the wire would be hooked in? If I'm right in thinking that, couldn't you turn off the breaker remove that one wire, close the box back up and turn the breaker back on?
Or if it comes off another plug disconnect from there? I could be wrong but if its a possibility, I think it would be better than taking the chance of something happing with it. Lately it seems whenever your watching show's on things done wrong you see a lot of wiring just left in the wall.
You don't remove wires when you are going to be re-installing the outlet
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 12:15 AM   #36
Member
 
willowgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 104
Default

How should I proceed? (Pics inside)


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
You don't remove wires when you are going to be re-installing the outlet
__________________________________________________ ________________________
He never said he was re-installing the outlet. ( I find the way you comment sometimes to be like your talking down or that I'm stupid. ) My response to him was my opinion about what I thought he was doing with those wires. He didn't say he was re-installing the outlet anywhere unless I missed it. I found where you told him he had to after I went back and read things because of your post about my comment.

You said to him:
(It looks like these are accessible from the basement?
If so leaving them in the basement with wire nuts is fine
It will not spark a fire as long as they have the wire nuts installed correctly

You do need an outlet in that wall to meet code
So I assume you are putting it back ?)


You said You need an outlet in that wall to meet code. Code is different in different area's. Maybe you know the code for his area I'm not sure, but I think it gives a false since of security to be saying things like its code, and its ok if wire nuts are installed correctly. People sometimes think they have done things write when maybe its not. He did make a comment "The wire nuts were a little small but I screwed it on with a little bit of force and it tightened. Is that ok? "

I know that some of you are probably thinking i'm being argumentative, and that's not what i'm trying to do. I just think that we all interpret things different that we read, and that depending on where you live the codes may be different and may have changed. I do think its great to have a place like this for everyone to ask questions. But think we need to be careful with what we say and that maybe make it more of a suggestion to check into, than it has to be done this way or its ok, unless we are there looking at it and can see all the possibility's that the person may not recognize is a problem to include in there question.
willowgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 12:44 AM   #37
Member
 
willowgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 104
Default

How should I proceed? (Pics inside)


This is a link for Holmes inspection. I found this the other day and it deals with alot of electrical issues!!! This is part one, they go in order. I think there are 12, 20 min ones in total. I think anyone that is thinking of doing electrical, plumbing, venting for furnace or anything with gas lines should watch this. Its all the same house but one problem leads to the next and it shows how things weren't done proper and there is alot about electrical. I think at one point the electrician said it was basically a fire that was going to happen, just didn't know when. There were lines just like yours but 220 neatly wrapped tagged and the wire nuts you were talking about. It shows much more though to about the wiring and things that can affect it that wasn't noticed.

http://www.hgtv.ca/holmesonhomes/video.aspx

Holmes Inspection, Episode 01 - Pt. 1
Mike Holmes uncovers the myth that is the home inspection and helps a family get what they thought they had already paid for.


http://www.hgtv.ca/holmesonhomes/video.aspx
This jumps ahead to where they start discovering the electric problems. Wires in walls like yours.

I hope that i have the right links for you. I just have to say, this is great to watch and see things that aren't done correct so they will show how to fix some of it. It shows things done wrong and what affects it can have on home safety and health.
willowgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 01:06 AM   #38
Member
 
willowgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 104
Default

How should I proceed? (Pics inside)


This is from a hope improvement book, by home Depot. Theres lots of great info in there books that may be able to help with your projects.
Attached Thumbnails
How should I proceed? (Pics inside)-002.jpg   How should I proceed? (Pics inside)-003.jpg  
willowgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 06:44 AM   #39
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 206
Default

How should I proceed? (Pics inside)


Good morning all.

During my cutting process, I nicked the romex cable and now it does seem to be transferring power. How can I fix this? Can I cut it, strip the wires and use wrie nuts and tape it back up with electrical tape?

llckll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 08:00 AM   #40
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

How should I proceed? (Pics inside)


Quote:
Originally Posted by willowgirl View Post
He never said he was re-installing the outlet. ( I find the way you comment sometimes to be like your talking down or that I'm stupid. ) My response to him was my opinion about what I thought he was doing with those wires. He didn't say he was re-installing the outlet anywhere unless I missed it. I found where you told him he had to after I went back and read things because of your post about my comment.
Yes....you missed it
That code for an outlet is the same no matter where you live
If you interpret my post as talking down, then thats your interpretation
I made a simple statement
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 08:04 AM   #41
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Saskatoon Sk. Canada
Posts: 412
Default

How should I proceed? (Pics inside)


Sorry but NO you cannot splice this damaged cable!!You MUST replace it from its two connection points(box to box or where ever).You could splice it as a TEMPORARY measure while you work on replacing it.Your idea of wire nuts on the ends of the other cable was is also a good TEMPORARY solution for your protection while you work around that area.Having a receptacle on that wall is probably code just about every where and you can rarely have to many of them.
daveb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 08:05 AM   #42
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

How should I proceed? (Pics inside)


Quote:
Originally Posted by llckll View Post
Good morning all.

During my cutting process, I nicked the romex cable and now it does seem to be transferring power. How can I fix this? Can I cut it, strip the wires and use wire nuts and tape it back up with electrical tape?
Is this in the wall ?
Any splices need to be in an accessible junction box
In a wall this means having a cover plate viewable for access
Usually there isn't enough wire to splice as you need ~12" of wire
Where does it lead to/come from ?
Best bet if from the basement is put a junction box in the basement & run a new wire from there

Quote:
Originally Posted by daveb1 View Post
Sorry but NO you cannot splice this damaged cable!!You MUST replace it from its two connection points(box to box or where ever)
Yes you CAN splice a damage wire as long as it is done correctly & ALL splices are in an accessible junction box
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 08:22 AM   #43
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 206
Default

How should I proceed? (Pics inside)


Guys, no need to argue. Everyone in this thread is giving me great advice and i'm learning so much as I go. This is the biggest project that I've done so far and I'm bummed that I have to replace the romex cable now

Since the romex cable is damaged, there should be no power in that line eventhough the breaker is on, correct?

Another trip to HD for 50ft. of 12-2 romex cable and a wire splitter. But if I did splice the wires, it should work, right?
llckll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 08:29 AM   #44
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

How should I proceed? (Pics inside)


If you shorted the wire while cutting it may (should) have tripped the breaker
This is usually what happens
But sometimes the breaker stays ON & there IS still power
So there could be POWER - be careful !
I have a meter I use to check for power - they have inexpensive ones at HD

I also meant to say, if the TV is staying on that wall then you might want to put a junction box in the basement for the wire that was in the baseboard
Then run a new wire up behind the TV & install a recessed outlet box
That meets code for having an outlet on the wall, & gives you a place to plug the TV in that meets code
As I recall you have the plug going thru the wall to an outlet in the closet which is a code violation

The downside is that if you ever move the TV then you have an outlet in the middle of the wall
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 10:55 AM   #45
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Saskatoon Sk. Canada
Posts: 412
Default

How should I proceed? (Pics inside)


Excellent points Scuba_Dave, I was trying to dissaude him from taping up a splice and leaving it.If he can leave the new box accessable then by all means just replace the easiest section and do the splice in a box.Putting the new receptacle behind the T.V. is a good idea and if the T.V. is removed the receptacle could easily be lowered and the drywall patched.

daveb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Damaged fascia (Pics) timcsi Roofing/Siding 7 09-15-2009 10:00 AM
The "Unscheduled Kitchen/Bath Remodel" <--dead cat, mold, & shoddy work (MANY PICS) perpetualjon Project Showcase 20 07-10-2009 12:22 PM
Some walls rattle in my house if hit with something, I will explain inside posting zincmann Building & Construction 4 11-10-2008 03:05 PM
Deck - 45 spindles - advice wanted (pics inside) Kevin K Building & Construction 21 06-06-2007 10:28 AM
This is bad, right? (pics inside) dalesd Roofing/Siding 8 02-16-2006 08:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.