Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Drywall & Plaster

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-05-2012, 11:48 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Question

How to fix ceiling crack

I'm a complete noob when it comes to this. We noticed this portion of the ceiling in one of our bedrooms got puffy and had a crack, so we went up and tore it down. No water damage. We got the pieces checked for asbestos and it was clean. My questions are:
1: Why would it crack? if no water damage?
2: Should I tear it down as much as I can (see the pocket in the picture...more can be taken down.
3: How do I fix it? If this can be done relatively easily, I would like to not have to hire somebody.

Appreciate all your help!
Attached Thumbnails
How to fix ceiling crack-pic1.jpg   How to fix ceiling crack-pic2.jpg   How to fix ceiling crack-pic3.jpg  

houseright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 04:06 PM   #2
paper hanger and painter

Rewards Points: 2,102

How to fix ceiling crack

What is the ceiling? Looks like concrete

chrisn is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to chrisn For This Useful Post:
houseright (10-07-2012)
Old 10-05-2012, 05:09 PM   #3

How to fix ceiling crack

Hi, thanks for responding. It looks and feels like some kind of hard plaster.
Old 10-06-2012, 04:56 AM   #4
paper hanger and painter

Rewards Points: 2,102

How to fix ceiling crack

Well, it still looks like it is all going to come down.
You need to remove anything that is loose.
Apply a quality bonding primer or maybe Gardz.
Skim coat the edges, let it dry, sand, clean,repeat, then paint
The texture,I cannot help with
chrisn is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to chrisn For This Useful Post:
houseright (10-06-2012)
Old 10-06-2012, 09:02 AM   #5

Rewards Points: 2,284

How to fix ceiling crack