How To Fix Boo-boo Around Recessed Light - Drywall & Plaster - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Drywall & Plaster

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-17-2013, 12:14 AM   #1
Want to Learn

Rewards Points: 75

How to fix boo-boo around recessed light

Hi all,

I'm adding a bedroom to the basement and finally passed all my inspections and made it to the drywall stage. If you take a look at the picture below, you'll see my rotozip got away from me. I'm a beginner at drywalling (obviously) so I'm curious to see what you pros would do to fix this. The light trim is a hair too small to hide it. I was originally thinking I'd just put up a piece of mesh tape and then mud/sand as normal. But no matter how good a job I do I'm afraid one side of the light will be higher than the other and the trim won't sit flush. So can I just put some mud up there without tape? There's no way for me to put any sort of backing up there either since the gasket part of the can light is in that space. All suggestions welcome.

Thanks,
Jon

Advertisement

jonhayden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2013, 02:39 AM   #2
paper hanger and painter

Rewards Points: 2,236

No need to tape that, just skim and sand it smooth

Advertisement

chrisn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2013, 09:09 AM   #3
Want to Learn

So just build up a little mud on the inside edge? I only need about 1/8" more so the trim covers it.
Old 07-17-2013, 11:05 PM   #4

Rewards Points: 2,686

tape would add a lot of strength for those times your changing a bulb and it a little tight, and no worry about the plug falling out.
ToolSeeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 12:34 AM   #5
Remodel and New Build GC

Rewards Points: 2,222

Jon... Having a little problem seeing the picture correctly,,, you said 1/8 inch,,,, but looks like maybe 1" @ about 4 or 5 o'clock.