Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Drywall & Plaster

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-10-2010, 10:48 PM   #1

Share |

Having Trouble Getting My Corners Smooth

Hi, this is my first time drywalling. I have a problem with my inside corners. The taping is still distinguishable after two coats of compound. What should i do?

Charlie.Liu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 05:49 AM   #2

Using a corner knife?? compound first, then tape, then light layer of compound, let dry, then second layer. Sand lightly, may need touchup layer.

Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 07:54 AM   #3
Old School

Location: St. Petersburg, FL Minds of moderate caliber ordinarily condemn everything which is beyond them.

I don't like to use one, but if you use a 'corner knife', you can leave behind a build-up of drywall compound in the corner like this. It's really not too noticeable, and it hides the tape.

You'll learn the correct tilt and pressure to leave just the amount of mud that you need to cover things like those tape lines.
Attached Thumbnails
Having Trouble Getting My Corners Smooth-d-w-corner.jpg  

Last edited by Willie T; 05-11-2010 at 07:57 AM.
Willie T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 08:38 AM   #4
Military Mom of 4

From the looks of it, though, you've done a good job - perhaps you're applying *too much* pressure and wiping away more drywall mud than you're leaving behind when you apply the next coat?
Old 05-11-2010, 09:17 AM   #5

if you are using a flat knife, apply pressure to the board side of the knife, and let the corner side float down and smooth it out, building up a layer of mud similar to willie's image. a wider knife is better for this. your corner does look pretty good for a first time though.
cellophane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 10:42 PM   #6