Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Drywall & Plaster

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-22-2011, 11:11 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Framing for Drywall

I am planning out my framing on 16 inch centers though in my plans when I go to install the drywall I will be a .5 inch off center because of the thickness of the drywall.

To further explain lets say I have a square room where I built the framing on 16 inch centers and put up the first wall of drywall. Now though on the second wall the drywall sticks out .5" and I am off by .5 all the way down the wall.

I am new at this and luckily planning ahead and just need some of those pro tips to make this successful.

Thanks

buildit45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 11:13 AM   #2

Framing for Drywall

You just have to trim the first sheet of drywall 1/2 inch. Put the cut edge to the corner where it will be hidden by the drywall tape and mud.

packer_rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 11:14 AM   #3
Tileguy

Rewards Points: 26

Framing for Drywall

Could have planned for this in the original layout but now all you have to do is trim 1/2" off the first board to get back on course. Do it when starting each wall.

SIMULPOST
Bud Cline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 08:26 PM   #4

Framing for Drywall

Sounds like he hasn't framed it yet. I layout my framing to allow for the offset of sheet goods on smaller projects, garages, additions, basements, etc.
Mike Hawkins
firehawkmph is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 03:07 AM   #5

Framing for Drywall

Hello friend very nice one post here. Keep it up...!
johnhawk9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 03:47 PM   #6
retired union carpenter

Send a message via Yahoo to coupe

Framing for Drywall

put your first stud from each corner set at 15 1/2 "center, the 16" center from that point on

good luck
coupe
coupe is offline   Reply With Quote