Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Drywall & Plaster

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-20-2013, 06:49 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Exclamation

Finding studs...might be a pipe? Help!

Hello all!

I'm basically trying to install an extension of the counters with a 3/4x24x48" solid aspen with legs and want to secure it to the studs in the wall for extra strength. Now, I'm preeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeetty new at this and I have no knowledge of anything and since this project is close to the kitchen sink (also in a townhouse apartment where the neighbor's kitchen is also right behind the wall), I needed your opinion on what my stud finder found.

Attached is a picture of the area. The blue outline indicates the metal it found and the red indicates the center of "something".

Here's where I'm confused: does this look like a pipe to you? I was thinking the blue might be the metal brackets holding the pipe and the pipe might be made of something other than metal.

Also, I've used the AC detector on the stud finder and it's been all over the place. I guess it just doesn't like the texture of the knockout wall. :\

For those experienced, I really do appreciate your help! My DeWalt drill has been standing by for 5 days now because I am not able to determine what the heck I've found

EDIT:
About 2 feet to the right, the metal detector has found areas of metal as well. I haven't gotten down the shape yet because too many plot points on the wall and my arms are killing me!
Attached Thumbnails
Finding studs...might be a pipe? Help!-studorpipes.jpg  

totallyhelpless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 07:23 PM   #2
DIY staff

Rewards Points: 2,916

What exactly are you trying to hang?

In an area where hitting something mechanical might be a wallet changing event---

I suggest using helical wall anchors, if the object to be hung is not super heavy---skip screws into some unseen item behind the wall.